Illustrator Folks - Small favor needed ASAP!

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Plymouthbreezer, May 1, 2006.

  1. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    Hi, anyone proficient at Illustrator?? I have a really simple issue in filling a small section of a logo I converted to vector. I have no clue what I'm doing, but I got it to where everything's all set minus this one tiny issue.

    If you have a few minutes, PM me and I'll send the file over - If you know the program, I'm guessing it will take all of 20 seconds. I'm just impaired it seems.
     
  2. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    All set - thanks!

    One question though, how do I get everything to ONE layer, like even the shapes within a layer??
     
  3. daxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    #3
    Easy...

    Open your layers palette
    Select all
    See the coloured little squares on the extreme right side of the palette. Drag each one to the layer you want one at a time.
    Done. But if the order of them is important, you may have to play around with how they sit ontop of one another.

    Dax
    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    What about the shapes in the drop down box of those layers?
     
  5. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #5
    Or just Apple+A, then Apple+X, then Apple+F.

    (This selects all, cuts it and pastes it all on the currently selected layer)
     
  6. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    I mean the sublayers. How can I get those down to one layer?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Black&Tan macrumors 6502a

    Black&Tan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    #7
    Why don't you try flattening the layers. This option is contained under the flyout window within the layers palette.
     
  8. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
  9. ecwyatt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    #9
    All this will do is gather the various items from other "layer groups" and combines them into one new "layer group". This is the same as doing what Black&Tan suggested, by using the fly out.

    You can not get rid of the sub layers and still have it be an editable Illustrator file.

    Why are you trying to get rid of the sub layers?
     
  10. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #10
    OK- misunderstood. Yeah those are your objects. Do you want to get rid of your objects?

    To get it all down to one 'sublayer', Apple + A, Apple + G.
     
  11. bowzer macrumors 6502

    bowzer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #11
    side comment - if your ever looking for brand name logos in vector format, check out www.brandsoftheworld.com they have tons of stuff there
     
  12. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #12
    That was exactly what I was trying to do. :)

    I still can't touch any of it with the brush tool though, why not?
     
  13. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    Err, here's the thing I want to get rid of, in the red circle.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #14
    You probably should be able to move/delete with the white arrow (direct select) tool to select the point and move or delete them.
     
  15. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #15
    Humm... not working for me. Could I just send you the file?
     
  16. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #16
    Trying zipping it and posting it here. I'll look at it.
     
  17. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #17
    I would - but I have to ask, what do I zip it with? Stuffit free version doesn't zip, does it?
     
  18. bowzer macrumors 6502

    bowzer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #18
    os x has a built in zip function... right click the file(s) you want zipped, and select "Create archive of..." something like that.
     
  19. chasemac macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #19
    Sorry to pipe in but if its saved on your desktop, then control click or right click on that file depending on your mouse and select "create archive". Then it will be zipped.:)
     
  20. Plymouthbreezer thread starter macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #20
    Yeah, I knew about that - but that never makes any of my files small when I use it.

    Actually, It decreased the file from 380KB to 316KB.

    Edit: Saving as a copy and then zipping worked I think.

    Now it's not uploading.. Gah.
     
  21. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #21
    Why not just draw over the mark with a shape then fill it with white.
     

Share This Page