I'm a College Student Looking to Switch

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by The_Wall, May 20, 2003.

1. The_Wall macrumors member

Hi. This is my first post here and I am a sophomore college student looking to switch to a Mac. I am looking at botht he 12" ibook, and 12" powerbook. If possible depending on how much I earn this summer I may be able to get a 15" powerbook. I will be using Dreamweaver, Flash, and Photoshop. Photoshop more than the other two, and I am looking to start editing movies a little as well.

The only problem I have is that I am required to take a Computer Informations Systems(CIS) course that covers Word, Excel, and Access. My problem is Access is not out for the Mac, so how much difference would I have running Virutal PC 6 on the new 900mhz ibook vs. the 12" or 15" 867mhz powerbook.

Any other advice you fine folks could give would be much welcomed also. Thanks.

The_Wall

2. tazo macrumors 68040

tazo

Re: I'm a College Student Looking to Switch

well does the course require that you use your own computer? if it doesnt then use your mac for all thoe apps it can run, and the schools comp's for ACCESS. best of both worlds if you ask me. If however you must run VPC, I think it will will run ok, although not as decently as the G4 PB. I will be honest with you, even VPC on a dual 1.42 ghz with 1 gb of ram, it is still slow to run XP , well with eye candy, but still. If you have to use VPC then by all means use it on the much cheaper ibook, just make sure to bu a 512 stick (NOT FROM APPLE) to make a grand total of 640mb of ram in the ibook. Of course this is all assumign you do not want to pay the extra 500 for the PB.

I hope that helps

3. ibookin' macrumors 65816

ibookin'

For video editing I'd get the 15" PowerBook when it is updated to the Aluminum version. Not only do you get an L3 cache, which is good for graphics apps, but you also get the widescreen, which is a great format for editing and design apps in general.