I'm about to get a PowerMac

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Impreza, Mar 17, 2003.

1. Impreza macrumors member

Impreza

Like the title says, I'm about to get a PowerMac. ^_^ Anyway, I was looking into finding a dual 1ghz or just coughing up the extra cash for a dual 1.25. I'm buying a Mac cuz the PC I'm using isn't quite cutting it anymore (Pentium III, 933 built a couple years ago) and I'm iffy about files porting over to Mac and the whole font issue. I'm a student at the Academy of Art College, new media major...4th year. I still got another year and a half to go however. I'm surprised I've gone this far with a PC. Luckily I had mostly Photoshop-related classes so fonts weren't an issue at the time. :p

My main concern about the dual 1.25's are the Radeon 9000. I've heard there were some issues with those and VGA monitors. I'm running a ViewSonic 19" E790 and I'd hate to have it go to waste since it's such a huge screen and all. Is this true? A friend of mine has a dual 1ghz, she just switched from PC to Mac for art school as well, and she had power issues between the PowerMac and her VGA monitor. I'd still love to get a dual 1.25ghz with my student discount at Apple.

I was even thinking about getting an iMac 800mhz with a 15" LCD and SuperDrive for $1299 refurbed at smalldog.com just to save some money and not worry about vid card issues with the display. However, the dual processor is too sweet to pass up and I won't have to worry about my computer being obsolete too soon. I'd like to keep the computer cost itself to be around under $2000 to about $2200 just so I have enough change to buy a 1280 Epson, zip drive, and whatever. So any advice or recommendations in my situation would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. King Cobra macrumors 603