I'm an idiot, please help!! Moved System library!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bdesign7, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. bdesign7 macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    So, I accidentally moved my library out of my system folder, and now it won't go back in. I try to drag it in, nothing, I try to copy and paste, nothing. I don't know what to do short of reinstalling my os, and god knows I don't want to do that (out of sheer time constraints, reloading all my apps would take a while) If anyone out there can help me with this, I would kiss your feet. Seriously though, any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Where exactly is it now?

    There might be a simple Terminal command to fix this for you.
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    Just out of curiosity, how did you do that. I just tried to that /System/Libary to the Desktop. All it did was copy the folder. Are you sure you moved it?
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    If you open Terminal, then type:

    Code:
    sudo mv [where it is] /System
    It should work. The easiest way to enter the [where it is] part is to drag the current Library folder onto the Terminal window, which will past the location, then type the "/System" part, so it'll look something like:

    Code:
    sudo mv /users/bdesign7/Desktop/Library /System
    or some such.

    Then you'll need to enter your admin password, and it should be fine.
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    Good point....
     
  6. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    It was on the desktop. Now my computer just locked up semi-completely. I can still use dashboard, that's it. Should I try a restart?
     
  7. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    As I said, I'm an idiot. I was trying to install the Front Row hack, and while deleting it (Front Row) accidentally hit the library. I then pulled it out and put it on the desktop.
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    I'd try to get to Terminal. if not, you'll likely lock up and need to boot in single-user mode to fix the problem. Yikes...
     
  9. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    BTW, you aren't logged in as 'root', are you? Please say you aren't....
     
  10. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    Okay, looks like single user mode it is. What's the keystroke for that when I restart?
     
  11. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    I don't think I'm logged in as root. I still have to type my admin password for everything, does that mean I'm not? Sorry to be so stupid.
     
  12. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #12
    If you didn't type 'root' when you logged in, you're not root. Just don't log in as root (which you can't unless you've enable that account, which is disabled by default). It's almost never necessary....
     
  13. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    ⌘-S
     
  14. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #14
    okay, no root then. *whew* Is it hold down "s" when restarting to go to single user?
     
  15. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    Okay, that's locked up totally. I've gone to single user mode, and it's locked up. ****. the last line says "panic: We are hanging here..."
     
  16. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #16
    Um, OK, looks like you're a wee bit screwed. When single-user-mode says it's in a panic, that's NEVER good.

    Got OS X disks? Looks like you'll need to reinstall it, but you shouldn't have to wipe the disk and lose everything, just do an "Archive and Install" first... which might work, then you could work on replacing that Library folder with your old one once you bring it up to the OS version you were using (i.e., 10.4.3 or whatever).
     
  17. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #17
    Two options that I can think of:
    1. Mount the computer on another Mac via Target. Move the folder back.
    2. Do an archive and install. You shouldn't lose an data, but you'll have to re-update you Mac.
     
  18. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #18
    Yes... try that first if you can!
     
  19. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #19
    Thanks for the help. Hopefully the Archive and install will work. I guess it was only a matter of time before I did something this stupid. The sad part is I've had Mac's since day one '84, and always tell people not to go screwing around in the system folder. Here's why, right?
     
  20. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #20
    Trust me, you're not the first experienced Mac user to screw up their system. Unlike with Windows, it's usually the experienced users who screw up their Macs. ;)
     
  21. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
    hahaha, thanks for the encouragement. I guess you're right. I just bit off more than I could chew. Well, the folder is now moved back, no problem there (thru the good ol' target firewire. Glad I bought that cable when I got my new P-book). And I'm gonna attempt to restart it first, then reinstall if necessary.
     
  22. bdesign7 thread starter macrumors member

    bdesign7

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #22
    Whoo hoo! No reinstall needed, it worked! Thank you guys, I appreciate all your help.:)
     
  23. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  24. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #24
    Wow, this is such a surprise. I'd like to thank all the little people who made this possible....



    Glad you got it working. Hope you learned a lessen though. :p
     

Share This Page