I'm interested in developing apps for iPhone..

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by amazingdm, Jul 8, 2010.

1. macrumors 6502

with ad based revenue viable for free apps, I am down to try as hard as I can.

Where do I start?

2. macrumors 603

MorphingDragon

The first step would be learning the Objective-C Language. This book teaches the Objective-C language and a little bit of iPhone development. Its also arguably the best Obj-C book.

http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Objective-C-2-0-Stephen-Kochan/dp/0321566157/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b

(If you're too cheap to buy a book http://cocoadevcentral.com/)

But the real question to ask is where do I want to go? Do I want to make games? Do I want to make utility apps?

EG: I want to make games for a living. I also need funds during University, so I thought I might try making iPhone games. So I directed my non-University learning towards that and got this book to start me off http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-iPh...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1278664536&sr=1-1

3. thread starter macrumors 6502

I want to make EVERYthing. I want to make tons and tons of apps.
    But thank you... you gave me a start. If I learn, master, objective-C will this be like a second nature for me?

4. macrumors 68040

Please don't.

5. macrumors 65816

BklynKid

6. thread starter macrumors 6502

7. macrumors 603

MorphingDragon

The "Programming in Objective-C 2.0" book I linked assumes no programming Knowledge.

8. thread starter macrumors 6502

Thank you.
    Should I wait for the 3rd edition?

9. macrumors 603

MorphingDragon

Well, look at it this way, the third edition will have more "errata" fixed, minor updates to reflect new changes that Apple have made etc.

Lets just put it this way, you can but it doesn't matter that much.

10. Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A293 Safari/6531.22.7)