i'm scared. (Boot Camp error)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nitynate, Apr 18, 2006.

  1. nitynate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #1
    to restart my mac. i was installing boot-camp and it gave me this error.

    what do i do???? :'(
     
  2. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    What error code is it? Was there a description?

    If you haven't, back up your hdd before you restart.
     
  3. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #3
    A little bit more info would be useful. ;) What sort of error, when/how did it happen?
     
  4. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #4
    A screenshot would help, no? :]

    Sorry I thought I put one in there. I forgot. Haha. Sorry.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Just follow what it says. You should be fine. But back up anyways.
     
  6. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #6

    Do what is says.
     
  7. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #7
    Ok...... Here I go.... I will post back if my computer survives.

    ;)
     
  8. Simon Liquid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    Iowa
    #8
    You guys can be so dense.

    Obviously, the error message is 'I'm scared.' As in 'I'm scared, Dave.'
     
  9. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    This is common, and happens to a lot of people after they updated their firmware. Basically it's just a size error and run disk utility from your startup disks and it will be fine.

    Do not worry about it at all. Your not anything unsual, after all if it was really somthing to worry about it, they wouldnt have encorparated the error message and solution in bootcamp would they.
     
  10. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #10
    I had that message, it turned out to be down to photoshop cs2.

    I had to remove the legal folder from the cs2 install to get it to pass the disk repair.
     
  11. Caezar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Between a rock and a hard place
    #11
    How to run disk utility from startup disks

    How can I run disk utility from the startup disks. I insert the installation disk 1 and restart and then what?

    Caezar
     
  12. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #12
    If you go to the top of the screen a menu will appear on the utilities menu (I think its called that about 4 along) there is the option for disk utility.

    You're not the only one to not find it, it took me a while hehe :D
     
  13. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Exactly as Gordy says :)

    Just agree to english language and click proceed and then dont go any further with installation just get disk utility from the menu.

    Repair Disk (rather than repair permisions)
     
  14. Caezar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Between a rock and a hard place
    #14
    How to boot on set tup disk

    I know now. I had to press the key C while restarting my Mac to boot on the disk.

    :p
     

Share This Page