iMac 1.8 GHz core duo and ram

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yoshiii, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. yoshiii macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    Hello, have a iMac 1.8 MHZ core duo and will be installing Photoshop CS2 on it. How much ram is nessecary to have it run well?

    Help
     
  2. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Remember that CS2 is not universal and running it through Rosetta will take more RAM. I would say at least 1.5GB. CS2 is a RAM hog anyway and Rosetta just makes that worse.

    I have 2GB on my G5 iMac and use CS. Sometimes that feels like it is not enough.
     
  3. Eithanius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
  4. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    I doubt it is ram, rosetta is plain slow, period :(
     
  5. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #5
    If you have 2GB in your G5 and it feels slow, then the Intel iMac better have at least 2 GBs has well.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    I would go for as much RAM as you can afford.
    If you can go for 2GB, then I would advise doing so.

    More RAM = Faster Mac. :)
     
  7. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #7
    Remember, that the iMac G5 have RAM with a slower FSB (533 MHz), while the Core Duo's have 667 MHz. Also the fact that they upgraded from PC-4200 to PC2-5300 makes a difference. Remember, that the processor is how fast you do stuff, and RAM is how much you can do at a time. I would say that you could go with 1.5 GB, and have okay performance, When you get a universal thingy, you can run it very fast with 1.5 GB. Just my two cents!

    (BTW, if you have 512 now, it would have been much cheaper to buy 2 GB from start (+$300). But now, you can buy a 1 GB-dimm for $300 and have 1.5 GB:( )
     
  8. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    The more RAM the better. Get as much as you can afford. 2GB is really what would make it run nicely. But if you can't afford it 1.5GB will do the job okay. Rosetta is RAM hungry.
     

Share This Page