iMac 10,1 beeps at startup

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Hexley, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Hexley, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    My Late 2009 27" iMac Core 2 Duo (E7600) beeps on boot up. Before that I installed two (2x4GB) 8GB G.Skill FA-10666CL9D-8GBSQ kits. What can be done to resolve this? iMac is spec'd for a min memory speed of DDR3-1066. The G.Skill is DDR3-1333. Could either of these be a reason?
     
  2. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Could it be a reason? Yes it could be. Take out the memory you put in and put the original memory back in. And make sure the iMac is working alright.

    Then try putting in 2 of the new memory modules and if that works okay, then swap the original memory for the other 2 modules.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    #3
    I believe you can also try the memory modules one at a time. I've had bad memory modules before that would beep.
     
  4. Hexley, Jan 9, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    Bear & Tiger

    I tried putting each two (2x4GB) 8GB G.Skill FA-10666CL9D-8GBSQ kits into each memory slot. All two (2x4GB) 8GB G.Skill FA-10666CL9D-8GBSQ kits works on the originally unused slots. The slots occupied by the default memory from Apple will not accept any of the two (2x4GB) 8GB G.Skill FA-10666CL9D-8GBSQ kits.

    Should I consider resetting NVRAM / PRAM?
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    May as well reset it. Also does the original ram still work in the original slots?

    Let us know if resetting with the new memory in fixes the issue.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #6
    Bear,

    Yes the original RAM will work in the original slots.

    It is possible that I received a bad batch of the memory so I will be trying the same model # memory successfully installed earlier in a MacBookPro5,5 Mid-2009 13" Core 2 Duo (P8400) into the iMac. I hope it posts positive results. I've also successfully installed the same model # memory into a MacBookPro5,1 Early 2009 15" Core 2 Duo (T9550) as well.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #7
    Make sure you seated the new ram properly.

    Push hard.

    My 2012 iMac gave the bad ram beep and all I had to do was reseat the ram.
     

Share This Page