iMac 2012 1TB vs MacBookPro 2012 NON RETNA 1TB Help

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MCIowaRulz, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. MCIowaRulz, Jan 21, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #1
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1529593
    Sorry I posted in wrong thread:)
    Will a 1 TB HD at 5400 be able to run FCP? Im getting the sence that the 1TB will be as fast as the 750GB OEM drive that Apple uses at 7200 RPM due to more platters on the drive.
    VMWare doesn't really care about speed does it?? I want to run Fusion for some Windows Programs that I have and I want this computer to last me 5 years so i'd want the 1TB right? Can someone run the Black Magic software for me on there 7200 RPM MacBook vs a 1TB at 5400 rpm?

    Thanks so much Fellow MacRumors people
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    I'll put it to you this way: You can eventually replace your 1TB 5400RPM 2.5" Hard Drive with a 1TB 7200RPM 2.5" hard drive in your MacBook Pro if you can't already, and the process would be a walk in the park. You can certainly do the same with a 2012 iMac, but a walk in the park it would not be.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #3
    And you can quite easily put two drives into the MBP if you don't need the optical drive, so in two years time you can probably upgrade to a 1.5TB Fusion drive for very little money.
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Hell, even if you do need the optical drive, the flexibility and upgradability to do whatever you want with the 2.5" SATA bay down the road is definitely there and is unparalleled by any other non-Mac-Pro Mac on the market today.
     

Share This Page