iMac 27 Inch RAM UK

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mtgeorge, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    Sorry for an annoying question,

    I'm getting my 27 Inch 3.6 Ghz iMac delivered on or after the 27th Decemeber and want to get 32GB Ram ready so i can install it from the off.

    I normally get RAM from Crucial as they guarantee compatibility and I'm not great with RAM compatibility/getting the best RAM but they're not in stock at the moment.

    Can anyone tell me if the below is comaptible and whether it is just as good/better than the RAM that Crucial offer?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-16G...8QRW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1354717273&sr=8-2

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #2
  3. tomwalsh77, Dec 5, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Blackpool, UK
    #3
    If the processor is 3.2 Ghz (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz ) then try searching for part number CT3650275. I phoned crucial and they confirmed that this was the RAM I needed for "Apple iMac 3.2GHz Quad core Intel Core i5 (27-inch, Late 2012). Hope that helps.

    Edit sorry, misread your post. That memory on your link isn't what you're after. The specs on the memory I have from crucial are - 2-8GB DDR3L - 1600 SODIMM MAC.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #4
    The one in your link is too big to fit in the iMac your need 204pin kind which is half the size of that

    ----------

    You can just buy 4x8GB makes up 32GB it only 3 pence cheaper lol!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    #5
    Thanks guys, sorry stupidly put 3.6 in original post, I have ordered the 3.4.

    I'll wait until Crucial have it back in stock and then order from there! Thanks all
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Confuzzzed

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
  7. TheAnnihilator, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    Emerald Isle
    #7
    Looking for the same answer for this ram http://www.amazon.co.uk/Transcend-1.../ref=sr_1_188?ie=UTF8&qid=1355703303&sr=8-188
    Listed as supported when on Transcend's website when you note late 27 iMac. Considering Amazon's return service I think Ill order 32GB, delivery before Christmas to Ireland. Any trouble after installation easy return other ram questions regarding CL numbers have delayed me buying ram.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Confuzzzed

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #8
  9. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    Stick with Crucial....They re-stock quickly and I wouldn't buy from anybody else...Stay away from Kingstons so called "Value RAM" it's terrible, but their mainstream stuff is probably okay.
     
  10. macrumors G5

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #10
    If I told you, in what way would that help? If I'm wrong, you still have the same problem. With Crucial, you pay (1) for the RAM, (2) for _knowing_ that you get RAM that works for your computer.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    It's back in stock now - just ordered myself 32GB

    You can get 16GB (2 8GB sticks) for £61.19

    Or you can just buy 2*8GB sticks for £59.98 :)

    Great pricing there!

    Also saved 7% via quidco
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    London. UK
    #12
    As crucial were (and are still) out of stock of ram for the 27" 3.4gHz i7 I have just ordered from mrmemory.co.uk. Cheaper than Crucial and they get good reviews on Trustpilot. Hope I did the right thing though as everyone seems to recommend Crucial :/
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #13
    Strange, they seem to be in stock at the moment - check here. I ordered this morning and all OK.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    London. UK
    #14
    Oh strange! I was trying to order 2 x 16GB Kits, rather than 4 x 8GB chips. For some reason they are saying out of stock of the 16GB Kits, but in stock of individual chips, thats odd! Oh well it's kinda late now, I already ordered with the other guys. They terms & guarantees seem pretty good, so will have to keep my fingers crossed! :/
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #16
    Check the pricing - it is cheaper to buy 4 x 8Gb rather than 2 x 16Gb (2 x 8's)!!
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    London. UK
    #17
    I just spotted that, very strange! Not sure whether I could cancel with Mr Memory and order with Crucial…!? :/
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    London. UK
    #18
    ok Mr Memory are supplying RAM made by Integral…. anyone know anything about that brand? I can't find much online.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #19
    is it safer to buy the 16GB kits as they are more likely to be from same production batch?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    Best ram for new iMac 27" late 2012

    Hi everyone ,

    Can you please let me know which one is best for my new imac 27" late 2012 :

    Crucial for Mac CT3327442
    16GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Non-ECC SODIMM CL11

    Corsair Vengeance CMXS16GX3M2A1600C10
    16GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Non-ECC SODIMM CL10

    Kingston HyperX KHX16S9P1K2/16
    16GB DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz Non-ECC SODIMM CL9

    Crucial guaranties the compatibility with the new iMac ,
    i am not sure if corsair vengeance or Kingston HyperX having any issues with compatibility ?

    Any help is much appreciated .

    Thanks heaps
     
  21. DeafRaiders, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #21
    Just buy 4x8GB instead that is what i did and it arrived early.

    Crucial is best to be safe. There is someone posted the Corsair did not work for is iMac
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester,UK
    #22
    I'm not sure what to do. I would feel more comfortable using matched pairs but they have been OOS for so long now.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Location:
    Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
    #23
    Same matched pairs is a must always.
     
  24. macrumors member

    Chunk72

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #24
    I went with Crucial 8GB sticks, the 16GB sets are out of stock until the 21st according to web chat yesterday.
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #25
    I bought two of these 16B kits for £84.58 delivered. It was the cheapest I could find apart from those "komputerbay" ones.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007Z0HJIE/ref=oh_details_o06_s00_i00

    I've had Geil in the past and it's been a good brand. I just installed it and OS X is fine (reported it as 32 GB 1600 MHz DDR3). I'm running memtest at the moment. So far so good (1 loop), but this could take a while. If this passes 10 loops, then there is no reason at all to spend more in my opinion.
     

Share This Page