iMac 8,1

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Tomple, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Tomple

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #1
    if my iMac says 8,1 next to it in system profiler does that mean its an 08 model?

    sorry for the stupid question i just need more ram and i want to know how much can put in :D
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Central Florida
    #2
    No it just means that it's the eighth revision of the iMac line. Kind of like with the iPhone: Original iPhone (1,1) iPhone 3G (1,2) iPhone 3G S (2,1)

    EDIT: Sorry didn't even read the entire question like an idiot lol, the iMac 8,1 is the first version of the aluminum models that was introduced in August 2007 i believe, it uses 667 MHz DDR2 RAM. I know that one for a fact considering that's what I use. Plus it can take up to 4GB of RAM so you should be able to buy it for a relatively low price.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #3
    i know that there are some sites you can go to that will either let you put in your serial number or lead you through a tutorial to find the right memory for you

    try crucial.com
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Tomple

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #4
    thanks for the quick answers :D
     

Share This Page