iMac Airport Problems

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by nate13, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #1
    hiya everyone..
    well jsut recently my airport has crashed......AGAIN....
    Any sugestions? i checked the support site and i guess it jsut affects mine and few others (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107518) soim wondering about any others with this problem. If ne1 else has had these problems could you please post your solutions and sugestions. thanx a million.
    nate
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #2
    What exactly happend to the airport (basestation?). Did you upgrade the airport admin utility?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #3
    well if you read the kbase article it is a software issue with the i MAc
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #4
    Something is very wrong with my Aiport card. I'm 40 feet from the base with one wall and I have 1-2 bars. I don't know what the problem could be other than that its a Dell router.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    GodBless

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #5
    nate13, can you give us more details about your problem such as if you have upgraded your AirPort software as the Apple site you referred us to recommended, what you were doing right before it crashed and if you have any guesses about what the source of the problem is from any additional information you might have gathered from other sources. If you can give us this information then we will be able to help you solve the roots of your problem.

    Thanks.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #6
    40 feet and a wall sounds like 1-2 bars would be normal.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    GodBless

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    #7
    With my two year old iBook which uses the original 802.11b AirPort card I usually get one or two bars 60+ feet away through many walls. daveway00, something that you might consider is if you are on a laptop try tilting the screen back and fourth and see if you can get more bars. Also if you can move the base-station around try it and see if you can get better reception.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #8
    Nate

    The kbase states
    System software included with certain computers allows them to join AirPort Extreme networks. At the same time, they may not being able to use the AirPort Admin Utility with the base station. A software update resolves the issue.


    There is no mention of crashing only not being able to connect to the basestation using the airport utility.

    Is your iMac crashing or your basestation. (how could you tell if your basestation is crashing?)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #9
    Im very sorry for fist off the clairfication issue and the dormantness*** of this thread. My iMac is the problem, as the other computer in the house has had no problem connecting. i am accually wondering more about people who have overcome these specific problems in the past. I am guessing it is either a pref file or a software malfunction.
    Thanx to all who have responded.
    nate
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #10
    nate:

    What does the airport graphic look like. Is it grayed out or just an outline?
     

Share This Page