iMac as a monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mc Pavel, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. Mc Pavel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    #1
    Hello!

    Sorry for a stupid question guys, but i wonder if i can connect an iMac G5 (or iMac Intel Core Duo) to a PC and use it as just a monitor? I :p :rolleyes:

    Thanx...
     
  2. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #2
    No - not directly out of the box.

    You may be able to find a USB video input device, that supports VGA input for the PC's VGA out.

    If the machines are networked:-

    If you're running XP Pro, you can use RDC

    If you're using something else, perhaps VNCTight
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Video to USB inputs are going to suck for quality.
    Networking connections are going to suck for speed.

    McPavel We've answered this many times before on MR. Search is your friend,
     
  4. dops7107 macrumors 6502a

    dops7107

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Oztrailya
    #4
    The OP raises a point though. The iMac G5 monitor is beautiful and it would be great if it had some form of input, so it could act as a single monitor for two computers, KVM-style. But I guess Apple wouldn't like to share its monitors so freely.
     
  5. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #5
    Nope.

    They'd probably prefer you to buy an iMac Duo, a second Apple screen (since the Intel iMac now officially supports ext.desktop via DVI) and then use a KVM switch. :)
     

Share This Page