iMac Core 2 Duo weirdness- "placeholder" processor

Discussion in 'iMac' started by btree, Sep 9, 2006.

  1. btree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Went to my local apple store today. They had one core 2 duo iMac on display, a 17". Naturally, I looked at the "About This Mac" box, and this is what I saw:

    [​IMG]

    Anybody know what's up with that?
     
  2. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  3. afornander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
  4. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    Perhaps the placeholder means it was a first off the line promo production model.
     
  5. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    When I put a Merom in my iMac, it didn't acknowledge anything more than that it was an Intel processor when I went to "About This Mac". Perhaps the placeholder is there until there is a firmware update that allows the system to properly recoginze the CPU.
     
  6. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #6
    There is no 8K1079 that I know of.

    How did you get that screen capture from an Apple store to that website that has the pic?
     
  7. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #7
    The builds 8K..... have started showing up since the Mac Pro came out, they are designed to support the new line i suppose.
     
  8. poolin1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City,MO/Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    hmm i saw this too...wondering what that means?
     
  9. btree thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I went to Terminal and used the ftp client. I didn't have my flash drive on me at the time.
     
  10. sigamy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    NJ USA
    #10
    Yep, I saw this also on a 20" iMac at the Apple store in Short Hills, NJ.
     
  11. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #11
    OS uncertainty.

    When a new processor comes out, the OS won't know what to make of it until an update comes out. An x86 processor has two 'identifying' strings. One that is just a set of numbers that identifies the 'family', 'model' and 'revision' of a chip, and another that is a plain text string that generally isn't formatted very well. (For example, a Core 2 Extreme, Intel's top-end desktop chip, has a 'CPUID' string of 6F5, and a 'Specification string' of "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU X6800 @ 2.93 GHz") Neither look very good in an 'About this Computer' box.

    So Apple takes the numeric string, and looks up the name of the processor. It then displays the 'friendly' name. Well, the OS must not have a processor for that CPUID yet.
     
  12. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    I have that exact iMac and my About this Mac is the following:
    [​IMG]
     
  13. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #13
    Quick, unrelated question. How come yours shows the speed of the RAM? My Mini just says "1GB DDR2 SDRAM" and that's it. No speed. In System Profiler it shows the speed, but not in the About This Mac screen.
     
  14. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I was just about to post your screenshot point out the same thing.

    Rich.
     
  15. amin macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #15
    I don't know :confused:.
     
  16. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #16
    My MacBook Pro doesn't show the speed, either. It must be a firmware thing.

    As for the difference? The 'released' Core 2 Duo iMacs (as evidenced by amin,) appear to have a later release of the OS than the display model. (8K1106 vs. 8K1079)
     

Share This Page