iMac Core Duo and CS2

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Josue, Feb 3, 2006.

  1. Josue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    #1
    I have a question about using CS2 on the new iMac Core Duo. I understand that CS2 doesn't run native and I want to know how big of a problem this is. I'm considering buying a new iMac and also getting Adobe CS2. Would it be a smart move to wait until the software runs native? If I buy now and then Adobe comes out with an upgrade will an upgrade be all I'll need to have the software run native?

    Any advice?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Wait until the new Universal version is out. You won't get any updates for current products.
     
  3. Josue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    #3
    Thanks for the advice!

    Thanks for the advice Eidorian. So there will not be an upgradable version that you can buy of CS2 for the Mac since the change to the Intel processor?

    Another question for Eidorian: I noticed you have an iPod Mini. Are there microphones that can be purchased to do voice recordings on the iPod Mini?
     
  4. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #4
    There will not be any updates for CS2 to make it universal. You will have to wait for CS3 (or whatever they decide to call it) in order to get native support on Intel. Girffen Technology makes an microphone that can be used on the ipod mini and a few other manfs do as well. Just search around and you will surely find one for a good price.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Adobe doesn't appear to be upgrading any of its current software to Intel/Universal status. I'm waiting to make my education purchase of Adobe/Macromedia software until then.

    I don't think there are any microphones available for the iPod Mini. The new 5G should have some out now. The 3/4G have the remote port on top so accessories for them are much more common.
     
  6. Josue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    #6
    Thanks Chrispy!

    Chrispy what are those mics called that are compatable with the iPod Mini? I've checked about several and they all say that they are not compatable with the iPod Mini, like iTalk for example.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I checked as well. I don't think the iPod Mini has any. :(
     
  8. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #8
    Not for the Mini, or Nano...I tried everywhere and sent Apple an email asking, outcome was the Mini is not compatable for vioce recording, only the iPod is at this time :( My gf would love to voice record some classes but can't :rolleyes:
    Small price to pay with the Mini but so-far the only let down ;)
     
  9. nutmac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #9
    Regarding CS2 on iMac Core Duo, I will tell you my own personal experience (I use Photoshop CS2). I have a 20-inch iMac Core Duo, which originally had 512 MB but was since upgraded to full 2 GB. At 512 MB, CS2 was barely usable. Heck, even native applications like iPhoto '06 got bogged down from time-to-time. When running more than few apps (all native), beach ball became a frequent visitor.

    Once I upgraded to 2 GB, however, native applications became super fast. No more beach ball. When running Rosetta PowerPC applications like Word 2004 and Photoshop CS2, the experience is not amazing (and when applying filter, it sometimes feels like my old PowerBook G4 667 MHz), but more than usable -- on par with Mac mini 1.5 GHz (with 1 GB RAM) hooked up to livingroom TV.
     
  10. Josue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    #10
    The Future

    What does the Intel chip mean for the future? Does this mean that for all upgrades to Adobe software we'll need to have a Mac with an intel processor? I guess my main concern as always with technology is I don't want to be left behind. I'm in the market for a new Mac and am interested in the 20" iMac Core Duo, but I also really need to have the Creative Suite and Micromedia software on my machine.
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    The next batch of Adobe/Macromedia software should be Universal (PowerPC/Intel) but I don't expect much PowerPC support after late 2007 - early 2008.
     
  12. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    Not looking Great...
    Source
     
  13. Josue thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    #13
    Thanks for all the help

    Thanks for all the help. I've learned a lot. One last thing I'd like to throw out there. If I were to get an iMac Core Duo and also purchase Adobe CS2 and suffer through some slowness for now. Once Adobe rolls out the new version, CS3 perhaps, would I be able to then buy the upgrade version of Creative Suite that would run on the Intel chip and only pay upgrade prices? Or would I again have to pay full price?
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I don't see why Adobe would keep you from using the upgrade version.
     
  15. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #15
    Strange I must be confusing that with the iTrip. Sorry for the confusion.
     

Share This Page