iMac Core Duo RAM Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DXoverDY, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #1
    I am considering buying one of these new 23" iMacs if the rumor happens to be true. But I'm not so willing to be paying for Apple's RAM, while better than it used to be, it's still a tad bit high. How hard is it to add ram to one of these new iMacs? It was a breeze on my PB but if it's really hard on the iMac I'll just bite the bullet and go with the 2gig straight from Apple.
     
  2. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #2
    i think it is reasonably easy on the current iMacs, but no one knows what the insides of the new imac will look like so it's anyones guess how easy it will be. If the trend goes the way it has been, it should be easy.
     
  3. DXoverDY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #3
    Yea, I expect it'll be close to the same as it is now but you're right it could be slightly different and being a rumor this is all speculation but I wanted to kind of "prepare" myself for what might be to come. My PC died about 3 months ago and I am living on my PowerBook (not exactly the best situtation). So I was looking at a Mac Pro but I need a new monitor and that makes an iMac an easier purchase.
     
  4. dogslobber macrumors 65816

    dogslobber

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Apple Campus, Cupertino CA
    #4
    I think the next versions of the iMac will solder memory to the logic board so you might have no choice but to get memory from Apple. They've done it with their laptops and Mini so it seems reasonable that the iMac is next.
     
  5. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #5
    ...The last post in this thread was over a decade ago, talking about the first-gen Intel iMacs.
     
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    That must just about win the "most dead thread resurrection by accident" award Lol
     
  7. SystemSettings macrumors newbie

    SystemSettings

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    United States of America
    #7

    I haven't done a ram upgrade for a while, but if its the same on the 2007 iMac (Doubt it is) then it shouldn't be that hard.
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 603

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    I hope that the OP has figured this out already.

    Do try to watch the thread dates. :D
    The post that you are trying to answer is from 10 years ago.
     

Share This Page