iMac Dead?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by StarbucksSam, Feb 22, 2006.

  1. StarbucksSam macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I wanted to buy an iMac G3 as a backup computer, and instead of paying $100 plus a ton of shipping for a 400 mhz model, I opted to take my Mom's best friend's iMac G3/333 off of her hands. The thing turned on at her house and responded, and then I brought it home, and I have tried to plug it in, and it's not turning on. At all.

    What solutions do you have for me?
     
  2. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    Sometimes the power cords go bad or aren't plugged in on those G3s.
     
  3. StarbucksSam thread starter macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #3
    How could I deal with such a thing? I don't have an extra one, nor do I want to buy one without being sure it will work.
     
  4. friedymeister69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    #4
    Why don't you just try taking the power cord from your current computer? I'm not sure if the connector is the same because Apple is always trying to be proprietary, but all PCs use the same connectors.
     
  5. StarbucksSam thread starter macrumors 65816

    StarbucksSam

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #5
    Oh, I have a PowerBook. There's not a chance in hell. LOL.
     

Share This Page