iMac direct connect

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by shaboomi, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #1
    I've been hunting around for an answer as to whether I can connect my iMac direct to the apple tv via wireless at 802.11 n speed.
    In other words no router or base stations involved.

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #2
    I was just about to make a thread on this -- I would like to know if this is possible too since my dorms don't allow WiFi connection via Wireless Router
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #3
    I think you can do it through ad-hoc. Find out about it. I'm not 100% sure about apple tv, but, I was able to do it with other devices.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #4
    Have you tried broadcasting via your iMac's airport card? Typically this is to broadcast your internet connection, and the result is that your computer acts sort of like a base station. I'm not too familiar with how the Apple TV typically connects to other comptuers, but maybe that will help. You can pull it off by going to the internet tab in the sharing prefpane.

    cheers :)
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #5
    That's what I'm hoping...or else I'll ask people in my dorm if they actually do allow WiFi but nobody has a wireless router...

    Anybody else have an ATV and can confirm Ad-Hoc will work?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #7
    no luck yet

    does anyone know of a good resource for setting up computer-computer networks or mac networking in general?
     
  8. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #8
    In the Airport menu goto 'Create Network'. Give your new network a name, pick a channel, set additional options like WEP or WPA passwords. Once finished, goto Apple TV and select the network you just created. Done!

    You could also just connect via CAT5 and have your :apple:TV on the wired network.

    TEG
     
  9. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #9
    Ad-Hoc is just the infrastructure of the network. The devices will not know the difference between Ad-Hoc & Infrastructure networks.

    TEG
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #10
    You're a legend sir.... a legend I say
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #11
    I tried testing this with a wireless connection from my iMac to my Powerbook and it wouldn't allow my Powerbook to connect to the internet -- did I do something wrong or is there a setting I need in system pref? (I know I asked for help w/ the AppleTV but I was simply testing it with my Powerbook / iMac combo)

    Thanks
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    #12
    No luck yet

    I've still not had any luck connecting my iMac directly to the appletv via the imacs wireless. Has any one tried and succeeded?
    I just was to have the streaming from the imac going at N speed with out having to by the airport extreme
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #13
    I bought the ATV figuring I have only a month left until summer break and I still can't figure out how to direct connect my iMac to the AppleTV -- I tried the create a network idea but I couldn't get it to work....I'll continue to try I suppose

    Can anybody else give us any tips? :eek:
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    What, exactly, didn't work?
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #15
    Well my school doesn't work well with routers of any kind so an ethernet wired connection to the AppleTV was out of the question and I can't pick up a wireless signal from my dorm so essentially wireless was out of the question as well.

    With those two methods out of the running I was hoping that I could Create a network via my iMac to sync directly with the AppleTV, but I can't seem to get anything to work
     
  16. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    ...But at what point does it fail? Can you create the ad-hoc network from your mac? Will the Apple TV connect?
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #17
    I'm creating the connection by going to the airport icon in the menu bar and selecting create network -- I create the network but my ATV doesn't acknowledge it

    I'm not sure if I need anything turned on/off on my iMac or what, but long story short -- I create a computer to computer network but the AppleTV doesn't recognize it
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    When creating the network, did you enable any of the security options?
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #19
    I've tried a connection with security encryptions and one without -- neither work
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #20
    Have you tried a plain old switch or hub - they just split & manage connections instead of a router that masks/asigns IPs
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    Bubbasteve

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, IL
    #21
    I managed to get it to work -- I had to turn on Internet sharing from Built in ethernet to Airport and then the AppleTV found that connection and I'm currently enjoying my streaming media

    Thanks to all that applied and if you have any other questions about my method just ask
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #22
    Congrats -
    If time permits it may just be easier for you to do a step by step write up for others.
     

Share This Page