iMac G3 127GB disk limit

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by parish, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #1
    I read somewhere that G3 iMacs have a 127GB disk limit (it said disk, not volume).

    My G3 was running Jaguar and when I connected my Firewire disk the main volume (490GB) didn't show up, just the two smaller volumes, which I expected.

    Now I've done a clean install of Tiger and not only does the main volume now mount, I can browse it, open files on it, and Finder reports the correct size and free space.

    So does this mean that the 127GB limit is (was) an OS limit so I could replace the very noisy 10GB HDD with one >127GB?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Hungary
    #2
    You can even use the 500GB drive. Just partition it to four 125GB parts. :D
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #3
    It's a boot limit then, i.e. it can't boot from a volume >127GB
     
  4. macrumors regular

    92WardSenatorFE

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    The 128GB limit is a hardware limitation, not an OS limitation (as long as you are using Mac OS 10.2+). Tiger has nothing to do with it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #5
    The limit is only for the boot volume then?
     
  6. eyoungren, Apr 9, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012

    macrumors G3

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    #6
    My understanding is that this is a hardware limitation period, not just the boot volume - but I'm no expert.

    This might help. Inetech Speedtools ATA High Capacity driver. It's a high capacity driver that loads at boot time and allows you to see the full volume of the boot drive. The only downside is that you have to have one 127GB partition and a second partition. But that's better than 4 or more.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #7
    Ah, this is me being thick isn't it?

    The limit applies to internal disks, but not external ones, hence why my 490GB FW drive works?
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #8
    ^yes

    The limit is in the IDE controller. This is why the firewire drive works fine.
     

Share This Page