Imac G3 233MHZ

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by yoshiii, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. yoshiii
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #1
    Hello I got an old iMac G3 233MHz super cheap and was wondering if I could take out the video card and exchange with another one, a better one more preferabaly. I have a friend who said he thought he saw somewhere that you could do that.
    Any know if it can be done?

    Help
     
  2. tidymeup
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Location:
    Macclesfield, Cheshire
    #2
    Hi,

    No experience of messing with the old imac's but the video card is not seperate but part fo the logic board as far as I am ware. It would be like trying to swap the card out in mac mini! ..
     
  3. California
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #3
    All you can do is find one of those old Sonnet or Daystar CPU upgrades. There is a Sonnet upgrade for the 233mhz that also adds firewire.
     
  4. MIDI_EVIL
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You can't do it, it's part of the logic board, and i'm pretty sure noone makes logic boards for the 233 and also, it wouldn't be very cost effective.

    Rich.
     
  5. eXan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    I have once read an article in the MACup magazine about upgrading 233 MHz iMac. They said the video card is upgradable (its PCI)
     
  6. yoshiii
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #6

    How long ago was this?
     
  7. Maxwell Smart
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #7
    The only way to upgrade it is to add a proprietary VRAM chip IIRC, it has 2MB by default which can be upgraded to 6MB with a 4MB stick. I may have my facts wrong though.
     
  8. eXan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    I dont really remember, somewere in 2003
     
  9. yoshiii
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #9
    Where would I get that chip from?

    Help
     
  10. SpaceMagic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #10
    I dont think it's upgradeable physically. You can up the memory to 6mb from 2 though. I have a few at home but I'm UK.
     

Share This Page