iMac G3 (about year 2000)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by haute@tiscali.c, Oct 4, 2006.

1. haute@tiscali.c macrumors newbie

I have no previous knowledge of Macintosh computers. Have just bought the above computer which is in good working order. I have two Microsoft computers working on a Broadband network through a Netgear router and a Belkin hub. Internet connection if working well on he two Microsoft computers, but I have spent a lot of time trying to get an Internet/email connection on the iMac without success.
    First question is: Is it possible.
    Second question " how" -I have followed a number guides on various Internet sites but have had no luck.
    Can anyone point me in the right direction please?.
    I use a pop3 and smtp connections

2. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

2nyRiggz

3. haute@tiscali.c thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for that very prompt response.
    I am not wishing to network the MS and Mac computers other than to be able to access the Internet and email independently on the iMac

4. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

2nyRiggz

5. haute@tiscali.c thread starter macrumors newbie

Broadband iMac G3

Not really. My problem is far more basic - simply getting a connection, although I might progress onto networking them together - something that I had not previously considered possible.

6. haute@tiscali.c thread starter macrumors newbie

Sorry letters crossed in the post.
    It is wired setup. Network is an overstatement because I simply have the two MS computers working independently through a hub. The second MS simply as a backup, both on XP.
    The main computer is not used as a Gateway as far as I know.

7. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Go to the Apple Menu,
    Select Control Panels
    Select TCP/IP
    Select DHCP
    Remove any other entries
    Restart

That should get you going. Otherwise it may require a little more thought.

TEG

8. MarkCollette macrumors 68000

MarkCollette