iMac G3 CPU - RAM - HD - OS upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacintoshMaster, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #1
    Hi there,
    I have a iMac G3 with the following specs:

    350MHz
    512MB RAM
    (not sure about the hard drive but it isn't very big)

    Now,
    Could I upgrade the processor to an Intel, G5, G4 or a better G3.
    What is best processor I could put into it?

    How much ram at max can it take?

    What hard drive can I put into it?

    Could I put leopard/ Snow Leopard on it?

    Thanks,
    John.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    If you want to get to Leopard or Snow Leopard, I'd advise getting a Mac Mini and an external monitor. You'd spend just as much with messing with that G3.

    Also, keep in mind the CRT in the G3 carries hazardous voltage. If you go probing around in there, you could get electrocuted in short fashion.

    EDIT: I assume you have the slot loading iMac. Here are the specs for it:

    http://apple-history.com/?page=gallery&model=imacslot&sort=date&performa=off&order=ASC
     
  3. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    No.

    No. SL needs an Intel processor.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    Hi,
    I am getting a new iMac 27'' soon but I just would like this G3 as some fun!
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #5
    In theory 700mzh 1GB of ram and 120gb hard drive leopard would not be useable tiger 10.4.11 would be just as good. There still great macs but it may be easier to buy a snow G3 maxed out for $20.
     

Share This Page