iMac G3 Problemo..

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by poofusnoof, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    I'm A Michigander
    #1
    Hi.
    My sister has an ol' iMac G3..
    It has 10.4 installed on it..and..though it was fairly slow..it still worked fine.
    I had ram from my old iMac that I let her use..and I put it in and turned it on..it took forever to load..but I figured..mine always takes forever to load after I unplug it..so finally it started up..and everything worked fine.
    Then about a week later...she tried to turn it on..and it just gets stuck at the Apple screen with the spinning wheel..
    Its not the ram..since I've put the old ram that was in it previously..and it still won't boot up..

    Is it just showing its age?
    Or is it fixable?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    I'm A Michigander
    #3
    Yea..I tried it..but still nothing..
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    The 51st State
    #4
    Will it boot from a CD/DVD ? Target mode ?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #5
    did u just do some updates, and i find when using target it takes a little longer to load for the first few days like my emac here, and my friends imac g4 400 was like that oh and if its done im in need of a hd for mine :D
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    I'm A Michigander
    #6
    lol.
    Well..the problem is its an older slot loading G3..and only a CD drive.
    BUT...Tiger is installed..I'm guessing they installed it on the HD since the computer doesn't even have firewire.

    So..I can't boot it from the DVD.
    After about 2 hours it will get to the blue screen with the mouse pointer..and then it just stops..
    I dunno..it may need more ram..but..I prolly won't mess with her til' I get enough time..

    And..I may just get rid of it for parts if thats all I can do..lol
    Now I have an excuse to get a new iMac..since my sister took my G3 :)
     

Share This Page