iMac G3 RAM

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zali0n, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    A quick question. My girlfriend has ordered an iMac G3 for her sister and we're in the process of getting some more RAM for it ( 2x256MB to be precise). I've noticed on the PowerMac G3 B&W that they use exactly the same type of RAM.

    My questions, is there a certain type of RAM that the iMac needs? I know it's 168 pin PC100 or 133 SDRAM but does it matter if the RAM is single or double banked? As on the Power Mac G3 B&W it would only pick up double banked RAM which was Hynix branded.
     
  2. JAT
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #2
    Crucial or OWC should still have the specs on their websites.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    First of all, which iMac G3 is it?
    If is the tray loading CD version (233 - 266 - 333 MHz) then it needs laptop format SODIMMs.

    If it is a slot loading CD model (300, 350 MHz and up) then it uses PC100 DIMMs like the G3 tower.

    The DIMMs have to be low density, so modern PC133 generic RAM if it is made with high density chips, won't work. Depending on the size, single banked RAM may not work.

    The maximum is 1 Gb with 2 x 512 Mb DIMMs

    As usual, the safest route is to buy from a reputable seller who guarantees compatibility with your model Mac.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #4
    Sorry my mistake its a slot loading iMac DV! I'm going to try some hynix branded 256MB x PC100 RAM
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #5
    I've got a couple of those in my classroom. So much easier to upgrade than the tray load! Anyway, I always threw whatever popped up on ramseeker into them. The equivalent now would be dealram.com I never had any trouble except with a stick of OWC ram (and I love OWC, they're great, it just happened to be a bad stick of ram).
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #6
    If your planning on running OS X Tiger, I might suggest you get a bit more ram. I have a similar g3 iMac, with one 512 and one 256 for a total of 768. I used to have 640 and it runs a bit smoother. I plan on upgrading to a second stick of 512 eventually, unless I get a 24 incher first.
    It will still run great with only 512, but it is something to consider if she plans on keeping it for a while.
     
  7. JAT
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #7
    I've got a slot-load 500MHz. Are you saying Tiger would run acceptably on this machine? I need to upgrade it past 10.2.8 for compatibility on my network.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #8
    Tiger on iMac

    Tiger 10.4.8 runs surprisingly well on my iMac (400 MHz, slot-loading, special edition grey iMac), but I have 1 GB of RAM installed. This seems to indicate that Tiger should run well on your iMac too, as long as you have 1 GB of RAM, or something close (say, 768 MB, for instance).

    Good luck!
     
  9. JAT
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    #10
    The G3 600MHz I bought my daughters reports that it has PC133 RAM. What kind did they use? I can't seem to find the specs even though I've been trying to track them down.
     
  11. JAT
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Location:
    Mpls, MN
    #11
    PC100 was specced for my machine, and I would assume yours is the same. But PC133 is just fine. When I upgraded to 768MB last year (or was it 2 years ago), that was all that was easily available on the market.

    Just go to crucial.com and type "imac g3" into the search. You will see specs saying PC133, but the original was PC100. I presume Crucial's current specs match what they sell today rather than 7 year old spec sheets. Their price seems a bit high to me right now
     

Share This Page