iMac G3 won't sleep

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mrkramer, May 17, 2007.

  1. mrkramer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #1
    I have a 500mhz iMac G3. I just got it so it has a fresh install of 10.3.9, but when I try to put it to sleep the screen goes off, and then comes back on immedietly. Could someone please help.
     
  2. mad jew
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Have you tried it with a different mouse and keyboard?
     
  4. mrkramer
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    I don't have anything other than the mouse, keyboard, and ethernet cable plugged in. unfortunatly I don't have another keyboard and mouse sitting around to try it with. I was thinking about it, and I did put in a peice of ram from an old PC in it, could that be the problem?
     
  5. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I doubt it's the RAM. I've had finicky input devices (or other USB devices for that matter) wake Macs from sleep before.
     
  6. mrkramer
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    Ok I'll see if it does it still when it sleeps on a timer, without the keyboard and mouse plugged in.
     
  7. mad jew
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Also, in the Energy Saver pane of System Preferences, is Wake For Ethernet checked? This shouldn't but sometimes does wake a Mac unnecessarily. Maybe test it without the ethernet cable plugged in too. :)
     
  8. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I was going to mention wake-on-LAN but I had my doubts that someone would be trying to log into it or wake it.

    Then again my G4's stay dead when I try to ssh in as admin. *grumbles*
     
  9. mad jew
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    I think it's a bit buggy 'cause I've seen turning this option off sometimes let a Mac sleep properly. Maybe it's something to do with router transmissions... I dunno.
     
  10. Eidorian
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Internet background radiation... :rolleyes:
     
  11. mrkramer
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #11
    I just tried it without the keyboard and mouse, and it slept fine, so I guess that was the problem, thanks for your help. Now I need to find out which one is causing it, and replace it.
     
  12. montex
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    montex

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    I hope you've replaced the PRAM battery recently. Those iMac G3s came out 7 years ago and the PRAM battery isn't designed to last longer than 5 years. You can get one at your local Radio Shack. I have updated many old iMacs and I find that a new PRAM battery fixes a lot of mysterious problems that defy explanation.
     

Share This Page