iMac G3 won't sleep

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mrkramer, May 17, 2007.

  1. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #1
    I have a 500mhz iMac G3. I just got it so it has a fresh install of 10.3.9, but when I try to put it to sleep the screen goes off, and then comes back on immedietly. Could someone please help.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Have you tried it with a different mouse and keyboard?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    I don't have anything other than the mouse, keyboard, and ethernet cable plugged in. unfortunatly I don't have another keyboard and mouse sitting around to try it with. I was thinking about it, and I did put in a peice of ram from an old PC in it, could that be the problem?
     
  5. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I doubt it's the RAM. I've had finicky input devices (or other USB devices for that matter) wake Macs from sleep before.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    Ok I'll see if it does it still when it sleeps on a timer, without the keyboard and mouse plugged in.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Also, in the Energy Saver pane of System Preferences, is Wake For Ethernet checked? This shouldn't but sometimes does wake a Mac unnecessarily. Maybe test it without the ethernet cable plugged in too. :)
     
  8. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I was going to mention wake-on-LAN but I had my doubts that someone would be trying to log into it or wake it.

    Then again my G4's stay dead when I try to ssh in as admin. *grumbles*
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    I think it's a bit buggy 'cause I've seen turning this option off sometimes let a Mac sleep properly. Maybe it's something to do with router transmissions... I dunno.
     
  10. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Internet background radiation... :rolleyes:
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #11
    I just tried it without the keyboard and mouse, and it slept fine, so I guess that was the problem, thanks for your help. Now I need to find out which one is causing it, and replace it.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    montex

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    I hope you've replaced the PRAM battery recently. Those iMac G3s came out 7 years ago and the PRAM battery isn't designed to last longer than 5 years. You can get one at your local Radio Shack. I have updated many old iMacs and I find that a new PRAM battery fixes a lot of mysterious problems that defy explanation.
     

Share This Page