iMac G3...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iMacBoy, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #1
    If i bought an iMac G3 off ebay, and ugraded the ram to 1GB (someone told me that's all they could hold) and upgraded the memory to highest i could, would i be able to do what i do on my current 09 iMac, e.g facebook, web browse.

    Someone who has one please tell me what it's like:)
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #2
    Comfortably? No.

    Even the fastest 700MHz models under 10.3 or 10.4 are really suffering nowadays. Anything slower, say 450MHz or less... you'd learn a lot about patience.

    And it isn't even so much the G3 CPU that's the problem, it's the fact that it has to do everything since the old Rage graphics chipset is too old to take on any of the workload under OS X. The 1GB memory ceiling would be issue #2.

    Hunt for an eMac. I don't think they cost much more at this point.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #3
    Okay thanks, i guess i was just looking for something to waste my money on...
    I have the 21.5" '09 iMac already, but i just wanted another to join this one. (But a cheap one obviously, not another £1000 one).

    Anyway thanks, i'll check out the eMac, is it newer than the G3?

    Thanks!!
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    eMacs are like the G3 iMac except they have a faster G4 in them, can hold more ram, have a flat 15" CRT, weigh 50 pounds, and are white.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #5
    And have have massively better graphics chipsets.

    ^Screens are 17", BTW.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    [please remove, no longer relavent]
     

Share This Page