iMac G4 15" Memory question

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by joecig, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. joecig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I have a iMac 15" G4 800 (very early model).
    Apple says the max ram is 1 gig. split betwween the 2 slots.
    I wondered if I can put a i gig stick in the user accessible slot.
    I did that on my PowerBook 12", even though the the Apple specs said 640 meg was the max, and it works great.
    Has anyone tried this.
    Thanks.
     
  2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #2
    I asked a similar question a couple months ago - feel free to read through the thread. It ultimately depends on your logic board (you can put in a 1 GB or 2 GB stick but your system may not recognize it), but I think you might be able to have more than 1 GB in your machine. Grab Mactracker to check out your specific system to make sure. :cool:
     
  3. dsharits macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #3
    It uses PC/133 notebook RAM, and I'm almost positive that there never was any 1 GB DIMM's of PC/133 in the notebook size. 512 is the highest made.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Sigh. Been there, answered that.

    The PC133 iMac G4 supports 512 in the user accessible SODIMM socket and 512 in the interior DIMM socket.

    If there were PC133 Non-ECC low profile 1 Gb SODIMMs (which there are NOT) then the frippin' thing wouldn't work anyways because the memory controller can't count that high.
     
  5. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #5
    Ah, so I was right then, the hardware wouldn't recognize it - thought that might be the case, as I didn't think that older G4 iMac had PC2700 RAM like my G4 iMac... Thanks for the confirmation CanadaRAM! Do you ever get tired of answering the same questions over and over? ;)
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Not hardly.... :rolleyes:
     
  7. joecig thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Location:
    LA
    #7
    Thank You

    Thank for answering so quickly, after I posted I looked around for a 1 gig PC 133 stick and couldn't find any, so I figuered it wasn't possible.
    Sorry for not doing the research first.
     

Share This Page