iMac G4 17" 800Mhz

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Summez, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Summez
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Summez

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #1
    Hi
    Just bought a 17"iMac G4 with an 800 Mhz processor.
    The mac has come with Leopard installed.
    Just looking for some advice, should I Stick with Leopard or downgrade to Tiger?

    Thanks
     
  2. VanneDC
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
  3. fhall1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #3
    If not already, upgrade the RAM to the 1 GB max and stay with Leopard.
     
  4. Summez
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Summez

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
  5. Riky.loebis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Riky.loebis

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Yogyakarta and Jakarta, Indonesia
    #5
    stay in leopard.
    mostly new apps minimum support os leopard than os tiger.
     
  6. SkippyThorson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    SkippyThorson

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Utica, NY
    #6
    I would absolutely stay with Leopard. The big feature for me that made the Tiger to Leopard decision easy was Time Machine. I did miss Tiger for a short time, because I was so used to it, but there are few gains when downgrading to Leopard.
     
  7. Jethryn Freyman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Stay with Leopard for this reason.

    I even stayed with Leopard on a 466MHz Power Mac because I find it so much more usable than Tiger.
     
  8. AdrianK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #8
    They can go to 2GB as the the second RAM slot is accessible if crack open the iMac. You do have to reapply thermal paste to the CPU when you're done though.
     
  9. Summez
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Summez

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for the info may have to have a go at adding an extra 1gb of ram. I am going to stick with leopard due to the reasons mentioned especially newer apps.
     
  10. fhall1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #10
    No....the 800MHz and 1GHz models can NOT go to 2GB RAM....only the 1.25 GHz (USB 2.0) model supports 2GB RAM....don't waste your money.
     
  11. aednichols
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    aednichols

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #11
    I would install Tiger. It's very fast on G4 machines, and if you're like me, using it as a secondary or tertiary machine, it doesn't need to run all of the latest apps.
     
  12. Riky.loebis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Riky.loebis

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Yogyakarta and Jakarta, Indonesia
    #12
    hehe sorry bro..

    oh really ur powermac with os leopard?
    it's slowly or working good?
    how many ram do u use it? 1 giga ?

    anyway have u tips or link to instal leopard under ppc speed 897 mhz, like ur powermac?

    i'm newbie bro,,hehe
    thank's
    :apple:
     
  13. fhall1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #13
    Google for "LeopardAssist"
     
  14. AdrianK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #14
    My mistake, thanks for correcting me.
     

Share This Page