iMac G4 Graphics Performance

Discussion in 'Wasteland' started by ibookin', Apr 15, 2003.

  1. macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    The OS X GUI performance on my iMac G4 700 seems to have really slowed down in the past few weeks. I have noticed that the Genie effect is no longer smooth for larger windows and scrolling is slower in Safari. Things like window resize are also affected. This happened in 10.2.4 but continued when I updated to 10.2.5.

    I have done fsck, repair permissions, daily/weekly/monthly scripts, and even created an entirely new account on the computer, but nothing fixed it.

    Anyone have any idea why this would be? The system configuration has NOT changed.

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
    first of all josh GET A POWER MAC!
    second of all get more ram.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    1. Waiting till the 970 comes out. Then I can have both the G4 iMac and the PPC 970 PowerMac on my desk (and yes, I will fold when I get broadband), probably with a nice 20" Cinema as well :D

    2. I have 512MB. The performance shouldn't be this bad. Also, I can only upgrade to 768 without voiding the warranty. :(
     
  4. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    oooh can't wait to bash that power mac :D
    get broadband seriously...i hate dialup and you have dialup :blech:
    768 is better than 512.
    reinstall jaguar too.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I'm getting broadband as soon as my dad calls Adelphia and arranges for the cable modem. He said he would do it a week ago... :(

    Anyway, reinstalling Jag is my last resort. I have the 10.2.5 Combo update, but I'd prefer not having to reinstall everything.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    more like 2 weeks...you promised *cries*
     
  7. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    Wow that was mean... :rolleyes:

    I wanted a powermac but that aint the answer, he is asking about unexplained slowness.

    You have done the right stuff but somethings you have to wait out.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    dude i've been bashing his computers since the beginning of time...even when they were better than mine :p
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Yeah, I had some great computers back in the day... My 486DX2/66 was the the shizzle back in '92. Then I had a PII 233, then an Athlon 700, then I switched. The rest is history.

    But this isn't about the computers I've had! No one has any ideas?
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    It's possible that de-fragmenting the hard drive will help.

    Have you added any software in the past few weeks? If you've got some customiser on the system, it could be interfering with the system. I've had several kernel panics since loading iLife.

    Also, 512 MB is probably the minimum you should have for good performance using 10.2.x. I'm not sure why you can't have more than 768 MB, but I haven't tried to change RAM in a G4 iMac.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11

    No, no customizers and no new software.

    The G4 iMac has 2 RAM slots, a 168-pin DIMM slot, which is internal and not accessible without voiding the warranty, and a 144-pin SODIMM slot which can be accessed by taking a plate off the bottom of the computer. I have a 256MB DIMM in the internal slot (standard config) and a 256MB SODIMM in the accessible slot.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #12
    it's not your iMac. Just do it you're gonna see a major improvement.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    It not being my computer is even more reason NOT to void the warranty.
     
  14. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #14
    oh well...you have applecare on that iMac?
    if you don't and if i still remember correctly-the iMac is old-it won't make a goddamed difference whether or not you upgrade the RAM.
     

Share This Page