iMac G4 LCD 800Ghz

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Alte22a, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. Alte22a macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    back in London
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Just wanna share with you guys that I took my sister's iMac G4 LCD apart to fit a 16X Dual Layer Super Drive and extra RAM. Just want to say that operation was a success and owner and mac are doing fine.

    Now thw iMac has 1GB of RAM and can burn Dual layer disks
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Well done. I've taken apart a few Macs in my time but never a G4 iMac -- hell, I've never even used one.

    Has the extra RAM made the difference?
     
  3. Alte22a thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    back in London
    #3
    The extra help. abit little bit snappier.

    The thing is when I pulled it apart to get to the inner side. it uses SD PC133 RAM like the ones in the quicksilver. The odd thing is when you open the base you can add ram but its the laptop style SO DIMM type that where you fit the airport card. It was kinda odd to see the 2 types of ram in one machine.

    I took my gigabit G4 apart and fitted a new fan cause I was paranoid that it would fail one day.

    Anyway the DVD burner was a little tight. it just fit slight scraping on its way out. But it works fine.
     
  4. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    Sounds cool. If I keep mine through the summer, which I probably will, I'm going to be adding more RAM... This sounds somewhat nifty too.
     
  5. AstroManLuca macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Dude, I really, REALLY want one of these 800 GHz iMacs! ZOMG!
     
  6. jessearl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #6

    ?

    www.ebay.com
     
  7. Alte22a thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    back in London
    #7
    I am wondering that as well, why on earth do you want that since G5 iMacs are about?
     
  8. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    Lol why G4 800 MHz? Not 1GHz or 700 MHz? ;)
     
  9. Bonsaichop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
    #9
    *whispers* you missed the GHZ joke in there..
     

Share This Page