iMac G4 won't turn on - help?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Scarlet Fever, Aug 1, 2006.

  1. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #1
    The iMac in question is a 17" 800MHz G4 iMac.

    I moved it out of the way to do some photography of a collection of Apple laptops. I've moved it back and plugged everything back in, and it won't turn on. No lights, no noises, just dead.

    I tried taking all other cables out of it, still no go.
    I tried plugging it into another power point, still no go.

    I can't try it with another power cable, because I dont know anyone who has one.

    It was working fine before I turned it off and moved it.

    Help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Could the household fuse for these powerpoints have blown? Can you think of any power surges or brown outs that may have caused this? :)
     
  3. Scarlet Fever thread starter macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #3
    no, everything else in the house is fine. No blown fuses, no brownouts...

    My first thought is it must be something in the power unit. I took apart a G3 iMac which didnt work, and i found a fuse. if i had known it was there, i probably could have resurected it, but i was having way too much fun pulling the HDD apart :D

    Does anyone know if there is a fuse in the G4 iMacs? And if there was, could I replace it?

    EDIT: I've taken it apart (almost completely) and there is no fuse. I'm taking it to the shops to get a replacement power unit when I get time. The next question is, how much will it set me back?
     
  4. bpmri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #4
    What was the problem. The same thing just happened to me. I unplugged the cord from the back after I shut it down. Plugged it back in and it won't turn on.
     
  5. Earl Urly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #5
    Those 'lampy' iMac G4s were horribly designed from a structural point of view. The logic board is only half an inch away from the base; if you set the machine down too hard you've taken out your computer.
     
  6. Scarlet Fever thread starter macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #6
    Mine had a dead logic board, I think. I still have the power supply from it. It might be worth shipping it to you to test it out. What model do you have?
     

Share This Page