iMac G5 23" ACD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eyemacg5, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    eyemacg5

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502a

    wyatt23

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Forest Hills, NY
    #2
    you would need to have the DVI/USB-to-ACD adapter.

    then you could attempt.... mini-vga -> vga -> (VGA-to-DVI) adapter -> DVI/USB-to-ACD -> ACD Monitor.


    while it'd be a little sloppy looking, i'm sure it's be fine.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #3
    Sorry to rain on your parade, but no, it won't work. All that does is take the analogue out and take it to the analogue pins that are used in some DVI ports. The Apple displays are digital only.

    David
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    wyatt23

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Forest Hills, NY
    #4
    that's not true. if you have a digital display with DVI in, you can successfully use a vga to dvi converter and use the display.

    adding the ACD converter doesn't matter becasue the DVI and ACD signal are identical [cept ACD has USB included so you need the display]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    eyemacg5

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    #5
    ACD connector?
    ACD meaning Apple Cinema Display, dosent it just use dvi?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #6
    actually, he is right, Apple Displays are digital only.
     
  7. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    He seems to have confused ACD (Apple Cinema Display) and ADC (Apple Display Connector). The current line of Apple Cinema Displays uses DVI, not ADC.

    That said, it does appear that Apple's displays only accept a digital signal, so you'd need an expensive converter box to convert the analog signal coming from VGA to a digital signal going out through DVI.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #8

    I have seen them used with a VGA-DVI connector. Doesn't this work?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    eyemacg5

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    #9
  10. macrumors demi-god

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Yeah. And if you'r spending that kind of money you'd probably be better off putting it towards a Core 2 Duo iMac since the sale of a G5 iMac + $299 = not far off a Core 2 Duo iMac. Depending on your screen requirements you could also go for the 24" model so you might not need the second screen anymore.

    Edit: I just realised that you're in the UK. That box will probably set you back around £200 over here. An Apple 23" ACD is £779. So that's already £979 worth which is only £20 short of a 20" iMac Core 2 Duo. I'm sure you'd get at least £400 for a G5 iSight iMac which puts you into the 24" iMac range. Food for thought.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    eyemacg5

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Derbyshire, England
    #11
    i was thinking its a bit of a waste of money, so I'll just use my crappy little 15" for a 2nd moniter :)


    -jake
     

Share This Page