iMac G5 and Memory usage...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by coachingguy, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. coachingguy macrumors 6502a

    coachingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Location:
    The Great White, Albeit Frozen North
    #1
    Hey,

    I just got a 17" G5 2ghz, 1gig Ram, 10.4.5 iMac. My problem is the dreaded spinning beach ball. I check the Ram usage with the Activity Monitor and it's almost always maxed out. And then it will have these sudden drops from 990megs used to 300 megs used and then back up. I've repaired permissions numerous times - thats another weird thing too, everytime I repair, it repairs the EXACT same permissions. Last night I repaired permissions 5 times in a row and all 5 times it repaired the exact same permissions. I've even restarted and opened and closed Safari. My iBook G4 1.33, 1.5 gig Ram, 10.4.5 with the same apps open never gets above about 500 megs Ram used. Whats up with this?

    Coachingguy
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Yeah, it seems that lately DVD Player and widget permissions don't get fixed. Are you only looking at free RAM or are you also taking into account inactive RAM?
     
  3. coachingguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coachingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Location:
    The Great White, Albeit Frozen North
    #3
    DVD, Widget & Free Ram

    Yea! the DVD and Widget permissions DON'T get fixed. Inactive memory is an enormous chunk - Sometimes as high as 800+megs. I don't know where it goes... What is "wired" memory?

    Coachingguy
     
  4. coachingguy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coachingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Location:
    The Great White, Albeit Frozen North
    #4
    Free Ram...

    Oops, I forgot to add that often "Free Ram" is as little as 10mgs out of 1024megs!

    Coachingguy
     
  5. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #5
    Inactive memory is memory that open apps are sort of 'reserving' for quick and easy access should they need it. So it's okay to have high amounts of inactive memory 'in use.' :edit: I'm sure someone more technically knowledgable will be able to give you a better reply, though. :eek:
     

Share This Page