iMac G5 as external HD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by manosaurus, Jan 9, 2007.

  1. manosaurus macrumors 6502

    manosaurus

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #1
    Is it possible for me to use my iMac G5 as an external HD in order to clone my MBP HD for occasional backups? Any cons with this method as opposed to using the traditional external HD?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    You could wire it up with a Firewire cable and put it in Firewire Target Disk Mode - (hold T key down as you reboot the iMac)

    or network the two together by Ethernet and File Share a folder on the iMac to use as backup space for the MB. Slower transfer rate, but less rewiring needed.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I am essentially doing this with my iMac G5. I have a big disk image on it the size of my iBook HD with a copy of my HD in it. :)
     
  4. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
  5. manosaurus thread starter macrumors 6502

    manosaurus

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #5
    Thanks C-RAM!

    You are always helping me out man!
     

Share This Page