iMac G5 as separate display

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by deanbo, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. deanbo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #1
    Does anyone know if you could use an iMac G5 as a separate display? Like could you plug another machine into it and use it as the display?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Not without major internal surgery, I'm afraid...
     
  3. Ambrose Chapel macrumors 65816

    Ambrose Chapel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
  4. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Sure, strip out the guts of the iMac G5 and figure out how to power the LCD and cable it.

    The sell the now useless iMac G5 parts on eBay.

    End result, you have probably now spent twice as much as a comparable LCD display.

    But the look's you get from your buds will be worth it as they tell everybody they know...

    "There goes a guy with more money than brains." :p
     
  6. alexf macrumors 6502a

    alexf

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    I have an idea: I'll trade you a 20" display for your iMac.

    Problem solved! :)
     

Share This Page