iMac g5- Dual monitor support?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Winstonp, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    Im interested in an imac g5, but can I use my lcd as a monitor extension?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    Yes. It requires a "hack" to do, but it can be done and it works well. If you search on these forums, I'm sure it will be easy for you to find out how.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #3
    Yes.. You have to use a hack if you want to use Monitor Spanning.. Google it you will find it.

    kyle

    here it is
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #4
    Also, this hack is not supported my Apple and voids the warranty. Correct me if I'm wrong....
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    sweet....not bad at all.

    How can that void your warranty?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #6
    Not really sure other than the fact that it's not supported or isn't guaranteed, but that's what I [thought] read here :D I know some people here have done the hack and would know for sure.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #7
    No it doesn't, it's simply a software modification and can be fixed by a simple formatting of the hard drive.


    I really do wonder why people see the word 'hack' and imeaditly think it voids the warrantee.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #8
    You have to reformat the HD to undo it? I thought I read somewhere where you just have to "undo" something in the hack. Man I really made this complicated now :p


    Probably because "hack" sounds so mischievous that is sounds as thought it could. But I could have sworn I read that it did void the warranty. Must have been wrong, oh well :eek: :)
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    I had this firmware hack applied to an iMac G5 midplane that was sent back to Apple, they never said a word about it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #11
    Well, since Apple's Warranty is a Hardware warranty and dosen't cover software anyway, I don't see how it would void it. :D
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #12
    sso

    so, should i get an imac g5 and take this risk and dual it out?

    it'd be so cool...

    Anyone beleive that it isnt permanent?
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #13
    Maybe? I've never had any reason to uninstall the hack on my computer, but I've lost the ability to span screens every time I reformat the computer.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    what size is your imac? So you're saying that the ability went away with a reformat?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    here's a link to a macworld article regarding this:

    http://www.macworld.com/weblogs/edi...nning/index.php

    Remember that you have a VGA out... the monitor needs to have a VGA input; if it is DVI only you need an adapter which runs ~$300

    I haven't tried the hack, but I have heard that resetting the NVRAM (or whatever it is) restores the iMac to the original state regarding display properties.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #16
    No I think there is a "reverse" function on the app that ley you do it ;)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #17
    i just realized something. this software may not work with tiger...

    what you all think?
     
  18. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #18
    I thought it was a firmware hack, which has nothing to do with the OS, there for it should work no matter what OS you have on your system...I think :D
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #19
    Well at least it is advertized as a Firmware hack.
    So that should not be bother by the OS then ;)
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Winstonp

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    rea-hea-hea-heally....


    so would anyone suggest I don't buy the imac g5 with complete intention to run dual monitors?


    Winston
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #21
    Look, people, if you don't know how this "hack" works (it's an Open Firmware patch), don't chime in with ill-informed advice.

    You do NOT reverse this patch by formatting the hard disk. The patch is in the firmware and can be reversed by resetting the NVRAM - all you have to do is shut down and hold down Command-Option-P-R while turning on the computer.

    It doesn't void your warranty. If you're worried about it, you can reset your firmware before having your computer serviced.

    And yes, it works like a champ on the iMac G5. The patch is available as an easy-to-run applescript "Screen Spanning Doctor" available at http://macparts.de/ibook

    -vga4life
     

Share This Page