iMac G5 dual screen hack?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by preyingmantis, Sep 17, 2004.

  1. preyingmantis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    #1
    Not sure if this should be in hardware or software, but here goes anyway:

    Anyone know if the dual screen hack used with the iBooks can work with the new iMacs? I haven't heard anyone talking about this since people started receiving their iMacs, but I'm hoping it's still useable. Thanks.
     
  2. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    I may try it tonight, you have a link to the hack?
     
  3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #3
    http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html

    It should work just fine. But I'm curious to see if it actually will. :)

    According to a post here it works on the 17" just fine.

    http://rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/forum/viewtopic.php?t=296

    You should take a few pictures of the 20" iMac. I plan on getting one with Rev B. (I can afford one now but I figure I could pay off all my credit cards first then easily save enough for Rev B.) I'd be curious to see better photos of the speaker area and the top along with pictures without the stand.

    Does the 20" seem pretty stable (not the OS but the physical unit... not prone to tipping over)?
     
  4. baylormac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #4
    i just got my 20" this morning and it is very stable. i even moved my desk around with the imac on it and nothing.

    i mean don't go flipping your desk over and thinking the imac won't flip with it :p

    but all in all very stable.
     
  5. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #5
    Excellent... I assumed it was pretty stable otherwise Apple would end up with big problems from them tipping... sometimes they do silly things but to not test that would be just a bit too silly for me.

    (So tempting to get one now).
     
  6. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    It is very stable! The quality is very, very good too. I installed an extra gig of ram, and it drastically improved the speed. I will run the hack tonight. I would think it would work, but I will let you know for sure.
     
  7. Redboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    #7
    Please do tell if the hack works or not...
     
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8

Share This Page