iMac G5 help!!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by divefroggy, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. divefroggy macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    I've got an iMac G5 isight which I bought in Dec 05. A week after I bought it, the Intel based iMacs were launched!! Now, the question I wanna know is, When will Apple stop supporting the iMacs G5 in terms of universal softwares? Cos now all Macs have transitted to Intel Core 2 Duo Chip and I'm sure that software developers will somehow stop wrtting binary for PPC Macs rite?

    Any advice or thoughts for those who are still using PPCs? Cos I love my iMac and I love OS X and I dun wish my Mac to be "extinct" in some ways. Get wat I mean? Hahah...:apple:
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    going on that 10.4 supports G3/G4/G5 and Intel's i would think you have many more good years left in the G5 platform
     
  3. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    thank you for your reply!! Now I'm a happy man.. Haha.. By the way, do you know how much difference does the Core 2 duo beats the PPC chip in terms of speed? Just a dumb question.
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    Depends what you're running. If it's Intel-native around 2-3x faster. If via Rosetta, slightly slower.
     
  5. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #5
    depends what your are doing but i would say twice as quick :) but overall the system feels faster -
     
  6. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    Hmm. 2 x faster eh? Wow.. I wish I could wait just a little bit longer just to get the Intel based iMacs.. But WTH, I'm happy with what I have and it's fast!! I'm not going back to PCs again, ever!
     
  7. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7

    I'm working mostly on Photoshop CS 2, With 1 GB (upgrading to 2GB soon)..
     
  8. nsbio macrumors 6502a

    nsbio

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    I am typing this on a 2.1 Ghz G5 Imac - it feels plenty fast. I tried the demo Intel Imacs at the Apple store and they were NOT much different overall (snappiness and such). They may technically be faster, but you do not notice a mind-boggling speedup - at least I do not. G5 is still a very nice machine.
     
  9. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #9
    cs 2 is running under rosseta on Intel so G5 win's on speed i think CS3 will be Intel native
     
  10. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    I agree with what you said on G5. They're nice and fast machines to work with. But I do hope one day that the PPC chips back on Mac machines :)
     
  11. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11

    Oooh. Will G5 be able to run on CS 3?? :eek:
     
  12. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #12
    i think so - it will be a for both PPC and Intel
     
  13. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    Cool!! i do hope they'll continue to write Universal programs for years to come..
     
  14. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #14
    Out of all the major developers, it looks like Adobe will be the first to ditch the PowerPC, but as they've already confirmed CS3 as being PPC-compatible your iMac will be fine for another three years or so yet.
     
  15. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15


    That's good to know and sad to hear (Ditching PPC) :( . I thought they'll be amongst the last to do that kinda thing..
     
  16. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    So as for OS X Leopard... Can G5 still get the most out of it or it's written only for Intel based macs? Till now 10.4 x is very stable and fast.
     
  17. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    Is there any way to change my Airport Express to 802.11n in my iMac G5?? Seems that this technology is gonna be the next hit for wireless..

    Any thoughts or suggestions?
     
  18. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #18
    On that one you're out of luck. The Intel Macs use a new wireless chipset provided by Intel themselves, whereas the PowerPC ones use an older Broadcom chipset which isn't capable of 802.11n. Unless you buy a USB dongle or a wireless bridge device to plug into the Ethernet port, you're stuck on 802.11g.
     
  19. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19

    I see.. then I've got no choice... Hahah.. Thanx!!
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    My 2.0 GHz iMac feels really fast too, with the exception of iSquint conversions (which...well, would hardly be instantaneous on a quad-core. :( ). My iBook feels taxed sometimes/often, but my iMac feels great. :)

    I think I'll wait a while. I'm definitely not really in the market for 802.11n yet. I have my iMac and TV talking already, so I don't need :apple:tv. Although you know that sooner or later the lust will overtake me and I'll need a new mac. :eek:
     
  21. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21

    Well... Same goes for me too. Dunno how longer will I hold up to temptations. The New iMacs looks very yummy!! With all the high end tech specs and all... Especially iPhone!! hahah
     
  22. divefroggy thread starter macrumors member

    divefroggy

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    Have another question.. Now for my iMac G3 system which I purchased after my G5. Just wanna make it as a music hub. How much RAM can I possible feed this old "beast" of mine? Now running on 384mb. It's a slot loading type, 350MHZ, running on 20GB HDD (upgrading to 120GB soon).

    More suggestions the merrier... :)



    :apple:
     
  23. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #23
    I think that's maximum 1GB. Two DIMM slots, each capable of taking 512MB.
     
  24. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #24
    All revisions, as far as I know, of the slot-loading G3 can handle 2x512 PC100 to get 1GB of memory.

    See here.
     
  25. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #25
    And if you can't get hold of PC100, PC133 RAM will also work :)

    (It's all coming flooding back)
     

Share This Page