iMac G5... how long does it have?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sikkinixx, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    Alright, so if I were to use an iMac G5 (second to last revision, just before they got the iSight camera built in) as a main/secondary PC (Macbook/Air would be the other) how long does it have left?

    I mean, it can only go to Leopard so how soon until Apple stops updating iTunes etc. for it. Basically I want to have a laptop as my main computer but I want an always-on computer for Apple TV etc. And I may have a chance to scoop an iMac up for nothing.

    I don't speed is a huge deal since I just browse the web/email/iTunes anyway. Thoughts?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    A G5 imac'll be great for what you need! Leopard is the latest OS that works on it, but I'd imagine it would be some time before they stopped iTunes updates for it. And even if they do, you'll be fine with the current version of iTunes, won't you? :)
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #3
    I would imagine iTunes and Safari support for PowerPC will continue for some time. Probably until 10.8 comes out as Apple is still doing a good job at supporting Tiger even today.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    When Lion comes out I think they will ditch all support for Tiger with iTunes. But they will continue supporting Leopard for ages, since it is very similar to Snow Leopard - their current OS.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    thats what they did with SL iirc, dropped support for 10.3.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    Makes sense. No one uses Panther anymmore. Around 90% of Mac users use Snow Leopard or Leopard, and the remaining 10% use Tiger. When devs make modern apps, there is no point in making it support OS's earlier than Tiger. Maybe even just Leopard and up if supporting Tiger is too much trouble.....
     
  7. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    yeh totally agreed there, however i do like that certain coders still code for Tiger, Panther etc because quite often i will want my iMac G3 to work in a certain way, blaablaa. i guess they are legacy apps though.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Yes I'd like it if most apps still supported Tiger, as it is quite widely used. 10% isn't that much... but hey! Its 10% of the market your missing out on if you don't bother making your apps run on Tiger...
     
  9. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    agreed. i still use Tiger quite a bit, i even use OS8 and OS9 a lot!.
     
  10. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    I'm using OS9 right now!

    BTW, isn't OS8 pretty much the same as OS9?
     
  11. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    :eek:

    BLASHPEMY!!! IVE NEVER HEARD ANYTHING SO INCORRECT AND RUDE!!!! ;) :rolleyes:

    nah, OS9 was the first to truely implement multitasking, OS8 and OS7 were only "fake" in the sense that the idle apps were halted in computations - much the same as iOS HAHA.
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    What, so if say, you were on Macrumours on OS8, and you had an app/game loading in the backround... would it pause till you switched to that app?!
     
  13. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    yes i believe so, never actually tried it - but thats what ive read :)

    i dont think the main OS supported a feature known as forking, so each app was put into a hold state. or maybe OS8 was the first, im getting confused - in anycase its one of them haa
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    Well thank god I've got OS9 on my iBook then! As I'm always downloading stuff, then installing/unzipping it in the backround while I'm on the net. Plus I play games while downloads are in progress etc...

    It'd be hell if something paused when I went onto another app!
     
  15. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    oh wow yes that would be quite annoying! is that a clamshell ibook? if so - JEALOUS!
     
  16. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #16
    Nah its not, its one of those 12" white later models, made in 2001. Its a pretty decent computer for everyday use actually :)

    BTW: If you like Classic Macs, you should join Classic Mac, which is a starting up forum about older Macs ;-) www.classicmacforum.com
     
  17. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    ahh very nice, great machines.

    LOL at the banner of that website - thats awsome! i might sign up :)
     
  18. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    Cool, we need some founders/moderators to get it started up ;)

    Oh BTW, I made that banner in Paintbrush :eek:
     
  19. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    nice, i signed up! PM me if you want any more info/want to talk. keep this thread clean.
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #20
    Will do!
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #21
    Thanks for the input (initially anyway ;)) Can you add a small SSD in old G5 units? Most of the music/pics etc will be on a network drive anyway so a cheap way to boost performance on the old systems would be a reasonably priced SSD no?
     
  22. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #22
    i thikn that will work fine, as long as the iMac uses SATA power and data cables :)
     
  23. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #23
    Yes, I suppose it would. The older iMacs take 3.5 inch hard drives I would imagine.
     
  24. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    correct, however size doesnt matter :D
     
  25. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #25
    True, you can get an enclousure or something to fit a 2.5 inch HD into a 3.5 bay.
     

Share This Page