iMac G5 shaky video (horizontal lines)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MRob219, Jun 4, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #1
    I have had my iMac for two years now and when I first got it not a week later the video went out, well at that time it was still under warranty so I figured, what the heck I'll go get it fixed. Waited a month got it fixed got it back, works perfectly. It's now 2 years later and everytime I try to run anything intense, i.e. World of Warcraft, or any game for that matter (also happens when the majority of the screen is dark) these horizontal lines appear, the darker the screen is the more intense the lines but once I open a lighter/white document the lines disappear. If I use the screen saver (flurry) is starts to do it also and you can clearly see RGB pixels all across the screen. I have been searching the internet for a good six months hoping someone will have the same problem, but that does not seem to be the case. If anyone has any idea what is going on, I have tried to reset the SMU and the PRAM but to no avail, I have also heard the swollen capacitors issue and have checked the board for swollen caps but all are flat. PLEASE HELP!!!

    As far as specs go it is an iMac G5 2Ghz (Summer 2005).
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    If you're still under Applecare I'd get it fixed. It does sound typical of the other logic board issues on the iMac G5.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #3
    Yeah, I'm not under AppleCare. I really didn't want it to come to that I'd rather just get a new computer since this is the second time this has happened.:mad:
     
  4. macrumors regular

    RaMaz

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    Do you still have your restore disks? If so, try running the Apple Hardware Test. Do the extended test, which will test various components on the logic board, including the video subsystem and VRAM.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #7
    My computer is not covered by that because of the fact that I have a 2GHz. I guess the only thing to do is reformat and hope that fixes it, thanks for the quick responses everyone!
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #8
    Just bring it into the Apple Store anyway. Might as well have them look at it for free.
     

Share This Page