IMac G5 woes

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Chip NoVaMac, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #1
    Some may remember about 4 weeks ago I had a constant rebooting problem with my iMac G5 (rev b IIRC, it was the G5 just before the adding of the iSight). After some frustration of two visits to drop the iMac off for repair (stupid me for expecting that showing up before the doors opened would allow me not to wait till 8PM for the first Genus appointment for that day. :eek: ).

    So after my second visit a day later, the next day my iMac was repaired. They replaced the power supply. All was well till this week when the same problem showed up again. :eek: Now they are replacing the logic board.

    I am concerned, despite assurances, that there could be no problems with the second power supply. Is this possible, or could I be facing yet a third visit weeks down the road?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
  3. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. dcv
    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #4
    Sounds very familiar. My Rev B iMac is also currently broken. It's had its PSU replaced before and now the logic board has gone - it won't power up. I haven't had a chance to back mine up and take it in for repair yet but must do so asap.

    Hope they get yours working soon! Believe me, I know how frustrating this is and the 20" is heavy to lug around. What makes things more annoying is that mine is wall-mounted so taking it in for repair means having to detach the VESA plate and reattach the normal desk stand every time... :rolleyes:
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #5
    Ditto. I wouldn't keep messing with same unit, not worth the headache.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #6
    I share your pain. Add to that I was given a 9:15AM appointment (which was fine by me), yet Tyson Corner Mall does not open up the main parking lots till like 9:30 or 10:00AM. So I had to park in a loading zone that had a 30 minute limit (heck, I am an older guy with a bad knee - refuse to apply for handicap plates, my knee is not that bad; but bad enough that I don't want extra stairs or a longer walk with the likes of the 20" iMac under my arm).

    What ticks me off is that I have AppleCare. Yet to make the most of my limited "free time" - I work retail - I am being told that I need the ProCare Plan. :eek: Otherwise I have play the waiting game for a G Bar appointment that may just be a pain.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #7
    I would like to think that if it were to happen a third time, I would have a basis on a replacement unit. Not something that I would really want though.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #8
    Well I got my iMac G5 back today, and guess what the same problem after a motherboard replacement. :eek: :mad:

    So now I have a new CPU and motherboard, and no solution as of yet.
     
  9. Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9
    Time to craft a well-written letter to exectutive relations, documenting everything from the start.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #10
    Thanks for the support. I am thinking one more try at a repair, before going that route. Figure that three times and their are out would work nicely.
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #11
    They may have been correct when they figured out there was a dead power supply. But what they may have failed to deal with is the power supply may have been undervolting the equipment for awhile. Which means most of the hardware is damaged and will fail in the future which would explain why the logic-board went. Good luck. But if there is one more problem try get a replacement.
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #12
    I think most lemon laws specify three repair attempts for the same problem, but I think they also specify a time frame from purchase. Of course, Apple usually replaces units if they go in a 3rd or 4th time for the same issue, so hopefully it'll get resolved either way.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #13
    Well my iMac is just one year old. :eek: And this third repair attempt (when I bring in tomorrow) in the last 30 days.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    #14
    Did you buy the system online? I usually buy my macs through this specific person through the phone and she gives me the most awesome service. If there's a problem she tries to get me a replacement unit for me without too much explanations. Especially if you buy Apple Care protection, she will treat you with the utmost urgency. But yeah, bug them for a replacement unit.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #15
    Were iMac G5s rushed into development, or what? i have heard of a lemon, but it sounds like EVERYTHING is messed up on this guys computer. No wonder they weren't using G5s that long...
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #16
    They started using them in June, 2003. They have been using them for awhile.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #17
    my mistake, i never used a G5 :D
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #18
    Apple Customer Relations have replaced 2 of my Macs before;
    17" PB G4 Alu and a 17" iMac G5 RevA

    I have been told both times that after 3 "major" repairs I could get a new replacement. Logic board, power supply, screen, hard drive were all considered major repairs while optical drive is not or was not when my machines were repaired.
    If it happens again call Customer Relations and request a new machine.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #19
    Thanks for all the support gang.

    Surprises of surprises, I was able to snag a 9:15AM appointment this morning.
     
  20. dcv
    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #20
    Ugh, sorry to hear it's still not fixed. :mad: Hope they can do something with it today.

    As for my lemon, I managed to swap the hard disk out and back it up yesterday. Was planning on lugging it in to work with me one day this week and then taking it on the tube to the store at lunchtime, but given that it's supposed to be 35C in London this week, I don't fancy that idea much. The stupid shop isn't open outside of my working hours :rolleyes:


    Let us know how it goes today... *fingers crossed*
     
  21. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #21
    Update as of this morning

    Got at the Apple Store at 9:00AM. The Genius was late, so one of the managers took care of me after handling the 9AM appointment.

    Kindness goes along way I guess. I was firm, but tried to be jovial over the trials and tribulations of the 'constantly rebooting iMac". I asked for the date of my first repair. It could not be found. :eek: I mentioned that I wanted that info in case I had to go to Cuptino if this third repair didn't fix the issue.

    The manager I was working with, said not to worry. Because I was so nice about everything, she would personally see to it that I got a replacement if I had problems after this third attempt. Regardless of the missing repair record. :)
     
  22. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    You didn't get a case number? I got a print out with my iPod Shuffle repair as proof it happened. I always make sure to get a support ticket number. It proves my support happened.
     
  23. dcv
    macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #23
    Well that's good news then :)
     
  24. thread starter macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #24
    I have that paperwork buried here somewhere. :eek: I know better now on keeping repair records.

    BTW, another manager, that is a customer of mine, caught up with as I was leaving. We chatted about what was going on with my iMac. He tossed out that it could be my HDD. :eek: They will try to boot off an external HDD and see if the problem replicates itself. I am now hoping that 10.4.6 and 10.4.7 and my software is not the issue.

    A side question, if the iMac needs to be replaced - what will they replace it with? Will they make me wait till another iMac G5 20" comes available as a refurb, or will it be a new Intel iMac?
     
  25. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #25
    There's a slim chance of an Intel iMac. I know someone that had their iBook replace with the low end MacBook.
     

Share This Page