iMac G5 Won't Sleep

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Phatpat, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    My 1st Gen iMac G5 won't sleep. Seems like a power supply issue, but I'm not sure (and where would I get a replacement?). When I tell it to sleep, it just shuts down. Any ideas?
     
  2. twistmac macrumors member

    twistmac

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    #2
    I had the same problem on mine. It's a power supply problem, you'll have to take it to an AASP and get it replaced.
     
  3. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #3
    I'm having the same problem here. Its seems like it began when I updated to 10.4.7.
    When I press the power button the computer will restart instead of sleeping. It also does this if I click sleep.

    Do you know how much the replacement costs out of warranty?
     
  4. twistmac macrumors member

    twistmac

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    #4
    It was about $150 if I remember correctly. They thought it was the logic board at first though which was a lot more, so at least it's just a power supply.
     
  5. Phatpat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    Thanks for the response, that answers it. I'll look into how much it costs, but I might just let it be, as long as it continues to power on/off just fine.
     
  6. Alonzo1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    #6
    I have an iMac G5 and it shuts down when I put it to sleep. I did the hardware test and everything was fine. But you guys are saying this is a problem with the power supply?
     
  7. memphismac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #7
    I've had some sleep issues with my iMac G5 as well. I described the issue to the Geniuses at the store, who guessed it was blown capacitors. One look at it, and they're correct.

    If it's a Rev. A iMac, it's a known issue and you can take it in for a new logic board at no cost.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302181
     

Share This Page