iMac HD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by skunk, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #1
    Could someone tell me the spec of the iMac HD? I'd rather install a bigger one myself than pay Apple to do it. Is it a standard SATA drive, or what?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    Which iMac model? The new ones use standard 7200 rpm SATA drives.
     
  3. skunk thread starter macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Already answered then...snuck it in there with an edit just in case that's what you were after. :cool:
     
  5. skunk thread starter macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #5
    Thanks. God, you're quick! :D
    I'm assuming, of course, that it's a user-replaceable part...
     
  6. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #6
    If it's like the 17-inch and 20-inch, NO. They're sealed units in terms of user-accessibility, assuming you want to keep the Apple Warranty. The only thing you're 'allowed' to upgrade yourself is the Memory, which is accessed via a small cover at the base of the screen.
     
  7. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #7
    What about the older, newer iMacs?

    Will this Seagate work in mine??

    EDIT: Oh wait.... I just noticed that it's a ATA-133, not SATA drive... So now here's another question, there are SATA-150 and SATA-300 drives... Which one will work on my iMac?
     
  8. MacProGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    Yes, it will technically work.

    However, the current iMacs use Seagate 7200.9 drives, with SPECIAL APPLE FIRMWARE, and it's worth it IMHO to get the 500GB upgrade from Apple.

    If you are going to go with an external setup, just get a couple of cheaper drives (Fry's in Dallas has 2 7200.9 series 400GB SATA drives for $99 a piece this weekend)... and hook them up via FW800 in a RAID 0 Case :)

    Much more space, MUCH faster, and you can use the entire INTERNAL drive from APPLE as your Windows XP partition :)
     
  9. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #9
    When my iMac G5 HDD drive died, Apple sent me a new one to install myself. Not sure if it changed, but the HDD and optical drives were user serviceable on the G5 iMacs.
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    While many parts were user-serviceable in the G5 iMacs, Apple unfortunately eliminated most of that in the Intel models. Basically, RAM is the only thing in the Intel iMacs that's do-it-yourself according to Apple.
     
  11. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #11
    Sounds to me like it's worth having Apple do it. ;)
     
  12. Alex Duggan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Just to clarify; it was only the Rev. A & B iMac G5's that had the many user serviceable parts - the Rev. C iMac G5 was the same as the newer Intel macs - only the RAM was user serviceable!
     
  13. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #13
    AH - lame. Well, I suppose that you should get a new computer equipped the way you want it... my the time you want/need to upgrade the HDD (beyond just plugging in a FW drive) you're warranty will be up anyways.
     

Share This Page