iMac i3 27" (2010) RAM question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by audioscribbler, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    I've now owned my lovely iMac for a month and freakin' love this machine! I love slickly designed and intuitive interfaces and can't ever going back now that I'm getting used to it. Anyway, I do actually have a question - I'm looking to take advantage of the extra RAM slots and upgrade to around 8GB - for now. I've fit sticks of RAM into PCs a few times but have never upgraded an iMac; do you have to use a particular brand/type? All I've found so far is this one

    http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/17288...pe=allproducts&searchsource=0&urlrefer=search

    and only found that one by typing in 'iMac ram' into Play. Any tips? And is it easy to fit? Thanks.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #3
    Are Crucial RAM packs compatible with the pre-installed 2 x 2GB ones, or do I need to remove those and replace them with 2 x 4GB ones if I want 8GB in total?

    So if I bought this (http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=769226C4A5CA7304), could I make my iMac 12GB in total, or would I only be able to get 8GB?

    How does the iMac run on 12?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Yes, they are compatible. No need to remove anything and 12GB should run fine, I've seen several people with 12GB in iMacs.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #5
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #6

    Anywhere in particular you would recommend for Oceania (AU/NZ)?
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Crucial ships there too. Some of my AUS friends have bought from OWC though as it was the cheapest, even with shipping. Of course you can buy it from a local reseller as well, just make sure it has correct specs (you can link it to here so we can check it).
     

Share This Page