iMac,iBook or PowerBook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by beria, Mar 5, 2004.

1. beria macrumors newbie

Hi there,
    I finally decided to swich to a Mac but I´m not exactly sure which one to buy. I am torn between a Powerbook and a iMac because I do not have a lot of space in my appartment and I share it with my girlfriend (so no Powermac here). The main use of my computer will be Internet/e-mail, Office, some Graphics (Corel) and other standard stuff, I am not that much into gaming however. I am currently in the beginning stages of my PhD programme in molecular biology and genetics so another main task is blast-seaching genomic and protein databases which might require more power. I wonder if a G4 iBook (933Mhz/14´´) would do as well, after all I am still a student and money is a factor! I would like to use the machine for at least three if not four years.
    Anyone out there who might help?
    beria

2. lasuther macrumors 6502a

I would recommend a 12" iBook G4 800 MHz. It is the smallest and cheapest of the bunch. You get the same screen resolution as the 14" iBook. When you are at home you can plug in an external monitor for screen spanning with a hack. Drop in 512MB of RAM to bring the total to 640MB and you'll be fine. Its been a great computer for me and very inexpensive.

lasuther

3. invaLPsion macrumors 65816

invaLPsion

I would recommend the 17 inch iMac. It will give you the power you need to run those genome programs plus it doesn't take up much space and is very stylish.

4. virividox macrumors 601

virividox

Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    well since you have ruled out the powermac lets break down the situation.

Laptops - hard to upgrade, ram is user installable, but unless you get an extra external HD, replacing the internal one yourself will void the warranty

PRO - you can get an extra display