iMac intel as a monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by EternalTL2k3, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. EternalTL2k3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #1
    So I want to know this: Is it possible for me to use my current PC desktop machine in conjunction with the intel iMac with the iMAC as a monitor? i didn't see any inputs for vga so i'm not sure

    edit: spare the anti-PC comments please
     
  2. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    so you buy a new imac to use at as a monitor for your pc?

    no, you cannot use the imac as a monitor. it is a full computer, and not a monitor.

    EDIT: If you want a display, buy an ACD.
     
  3. EternalTL2k3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #3
    yes and no.

    I already have a monitor for my PC and there are programs that I use for research that are PC only. I wanted to get an iMAC for main usage where I can just bounce to the PC when I need to use it for work. It wouldn't make much sense for me to keep 2 monitors on the desk. The mac mini is a little underpowered for the taste and the current powerPC is too pricey for my taste and hence my question
     
  4. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    You should have done a search, there are already dozens of threads on this already. The final answer is pretty much a no. You could use a VNC server, but that would be really slow. I would just pick up a crappy monitor for cheap for use with the PC.
     
  5. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #5
    With the right settings, using vnc to view the PC screen and run applications on a LAN is workable. Don't expect 80 frames per second or anything near that, but for 2D applications comparable to word processing it is plenty fast.

    The PC is running at full speed, so if your applications are CPU intensive then you don't loose that speed. The slow down is just that the screen refresh isn't as fast as on the console. Having said that, I have had no problems watching a DVD play fullscreen at 1280x854 over vnc when connected to a 100MB ethernet connection.
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    Yes you can do this but first you have to teach your PC to send it's display over the Ethernet cable. And then you run a small program on the iMac that sucks the display information off the Ethernet cable and puts in in a box on the iMac's screen. Go to google and type in "VNC". It's not hard to set up and it's free.
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    It's NOT slow. OK if you are playing a 3D game it might be slow but only as slow as an un-acceleratd VGA card. If you need more speed go with gigabyte Ethernet. All the iMacs already have 1000BaseT and you can add it to a PC for like $30.
     

Share This Page