Imac Intel, sound card suck???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JayKor, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. JayKor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    #1
    Has anyone had the old iMac G5 20", and now have the new Imac Intel Pro Dua, and find that master volume is alot lower that the older Imac?

    I find that I have to crank up the knob alot higher to get the same output

    Anyone else notice this???
     
  2. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    I've had both and I haven't noticed a difference between either model. If you're using iTunes maybe you have the volume control lower in there?
     
  3. JayKor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    #3
    I've had both, and i noticed it.
    I know to look for the itunes volume, but its up to the highest.

    I just think it has a different sound card, perhaps
     
  4. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #4
    It doesn't have a sound card. ;)
     
  5. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #5
    lol, thats what i was thinking!! check your volumes and balance in system preferences.

    F
     
  6. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #6
    Well I believe the G5 had either a Burr Brown or a Texas Instruments built in sound card, but the Intel Core Duo shows an Intel High Definition Sound in the System Profiler.

    I do notice the difference in the volume level, so I ordered the JBL Encounter, which I was going to do anyways. We'll see how that sounds next week when I recieve the speakers.
     

Share This Page