iMac just shut itself down - first time ever.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Zav, Jan 13, 2013.

  1. Zav
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #1
    Okay so I've read a lot of stories of Macs just shutting them self down but never had an issue myself - until now.

    I read that the main cause of this is the RAM. I've recently added 4GB to my existing factory 4GB and it's been running fine for a good 3 days. However today when streaming the football the iMac just shut itself down instantaneously. Does this mean I have faulty RAM?

    Kinda worried as clearly the Mac shutting down in such a manner cannot be good for its health.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Was it this?
    [​IMG]

    If so, if it happens once, it is not a bad sign, it can happen, and it can be hardware (RAM) or software related.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #3
    OP, run Apple Hardware Test by holding the D key at start up.

    Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

    If no errors show up you're good.

    Simsaladimbamba, I'm pretty sure he did not see that, he said instantaneously which indicated a hard shut down.
    If it was what you showed you have to manually shut it down, it even tells you to do so in the Dialogue box.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Right, forgot that, but it was worth a try, and sometimes there are just circumstances, where, you know, that thing gets out of hand, and nothing gets told as it happened, and yeah, loss of memories and such ****.
     
  5. Zav
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #5
    Okay, so I've tried doing this over 5 times now and the best I get is an extended boot time. I get the grey screen and its takes a good 30 seconds before the Apple sign comes up and then the usual boot procedure follows.

    And no, I didn't get that screen Sims. Thanks for replying though! :D
     
  6. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #6
    So, it did not work, you could not get into AHT?

    How old is the mac, year and model, if you hold Option at start up what do you see?
     
  7. Zav
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #7
    No it failed to boot the hardware test. Its a 2011 Core i5 iMac. Pressing prompt keys at boot don't seem to work with it, maybe its highly stubborn? :rolleyes:
     
  8. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #8
    Is this with a wireless keyboard, if so connect a wired one and try again.(If you have one)

    An SMC reset might also help.

    Resetting the System Management Controller - Support - Apple

     

Share This Page