imac microphone

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by wchong, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. wchong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #1
    hey guys, i try to use my mic that i plug into the back of the iMac while playing CS:S but it doesn't work. would you guys know why?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    Because the audio-in on all Macs is line-level, not mic-level. You need a pre-amp to bring it up to line-level.
     
  3. wchong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #3

    oh, so i need to buy one of those usb sound blaster audigy nx?
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    No, just a basic pre-amp. They cost bugger-all from your local electronics store. Just ask for something that will boost mic-level to line-level.

    You could also get a Griffin iMic that does the same thing over USB.
     
  5. wchong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #5

    wait a sec, that same preamp is also used for the headphones right? if it is then i know what ur talking about. if it is then i'm so dumb cuz i think i have one. lol
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    You're very difficult to understand. A pre-amp accepts low-level signals and boosts them to high-level signals before the signals go into the recording device.

    The Griffin iMic can be set to boost incoming signals from a microphone/record turntable etc to line-level or boost outgoing signals from the Mac.
     
  7. wchong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #7
    hmm i see.

    but i was referring to the adapters.

    isn't there an adapter that plugs directly into the line in and the mic jack plugs directly into the adapter?
     

Share This Page