iMac monitor possibilites

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by harveypooka, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #1
    Can the iMac support another monitor or does it just mirror?
     
  2. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #2
  3. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    I don't mean to sound rude, but it seems this exact question is asked at least once a week. Use the Search function, people!

    Thank you. :)
     
  4. vga4life macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    My rev. b 17" G5 iMac works great spanning across a 19" LCD on its VGA port. It's a good clean signal at 1280x1024, can't tell it's not DVI.

    I even have the 19" set to the primary display. No problems whatsoever, and cheaper together than a 20" iMac by itself.

    -vga4life
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    I might as well ask this question here:

    I have a 17" iMac (see sig). How is the internal monitor connected, VGA, DVI, or none of the above? I just want to know how the quality compares to a VGA or DVI.
    Thanks :)
     
  6. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #6
    I had the same setup for a week or two, but then sold my 19" (1280x1024) LCD monitor last week - it was a freebie so wasn't a differcult choice to make.

    I found that the non-widescreen, lower resolution, together with the larger size of the external monitor made it look pretty naff.

    I may go for a widescreen, something like the Dell 2005FPW, assuming the spanning doctor can handle it :)

    .. though I'd prefer to put the money towards a 12" iBook for portability. :)
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I'm waiting for a coupon rush so I can get a Dell 20.1" Widescreen. The last time there was a good one they were at $394 + $2.60 shipping. I've never noticed any difference between VGA and DVI. Of course I'd rather have DVI. It'll be nice to have a monitor ready for my next my and the extra screen space for my current iMac.
     
  8. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
  9. Tattoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    #9
    Plasma Screen

    How in the world do you even begin to hook up another monitor to the iMac? I just looked at that back and I dont see ANY port to add an external Monitor! I dont care if it just mirrors - I will put the iMac under my desk and just use a 30" Plasma Screen instead - Any ideas??
     
  10. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #10
    There is a mini VGA pulg at the back...then pick up the mini VGA -> VGA adaptor then run the doctor and enjoy two displays or simply just hoock up and enjoy ;)
     
  11. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #11
    Dual heads on a Rev.C iMac you mean?

    Yes, I have.

    Although, I as mentioned in my previous post above, I've since sold the external monitor (freebie) and made full use of Expose :rolleyes:

    I'd consider having dual-heads again with either a 19inch CRT (1600x1200) or 20" widescreen (1680x1050).

    My pic from another thread [​IMG]
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    You need this
     
  13. mhackney macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    #13
    iMac DV external monitor only

    Hi all, My iMac DV (smoke) has been having intermittent startup problems for a few months. At first I thought it was the ROM - Mac OSX issue folks have reported but that turned out not to be the problem. What usually happens is the boot happens up to the monitor showing an image and then I get either a flash down the middle of the crt and the computer ***** down or I see the apple boot sceen but very jagged and faded and then a shutdown. I am pretty sure it is a flyback transformer issue. So, what I would like to do is hook up an external monitor to test this theory and/or make it possible to use the iMac (kids computer). So the qustion is, when you hook up an external monitor, does it disable the internal CRT? and if not, how do I do that?

    thanks,
    Michael
     
  14. Ottawa Zeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #14
    Sorry for asking again.

    I just want to get a clear and simple and if anyone can take the time to answer me clearly on how to proceed I would greatly appreciate it.

    Ok I have a iMac G5 (non intel) 2Ghz 17" - I'm considering buying a 42" Plasma LG screen to hook up to it -

    Now from what I understand I can have it span on both screens rather than miror it right? with the right software I would imagine...

    OK ideally I would love to have it span to make one my primary with the dock on it and the other just as extra real estate.

    So #1 what do I need to conect my iMac to the Plasma screen ? what cables ? and are there extensions for the cable in question ?

    # 2 What software is required and is it simple enought to setup?

    # 3 Can I make the 42" plasma screen the primary display and use the iMacs display as secondary ?

    long story short I want to put my iMac at one end of the room and have it hooked up with my new 42" plasma screen - I want the plasma screen to be the primary screen. What do I need, how do I do it and is it going to be something really complicated ?

    Thanks for any help everyone!

    Thanks.
     
  15. kyleaa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #15
    Yes to the spanning, you would need the apple Mini-VGA to VGA adapter, and a VGA cable (I think you can get VGA cables in reasonably long lengths, but the signal does degrade so you can't go exorbatant distances with it).
    However, VGA only supports up to a certain resolution, I think you would be vastly underusing the capabilities of a screen that size. I looked on the LG site, and if you are refering to one of the plasma TVs, the ones i looked at do not have any sort of computer inputs. In this case, you would need a Mini-VGA to S-Video adapter and an S-Video cable, but you should not be expecting anything amazing from the display, as S-Video is not meant to carry the precision that computer monitors have.

     
  16. Ottawa Zeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #16
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    Thanks for the reply, I was just wondering what I could do get a better quality? I've been doing some research online and came accross this :

    http://hometheatermac.com/gallery/displayimage.php?album=lastup&cat=0&pos=0

    and that's more or less what I'm aiming for, the quality seems pretty good to me. Any suggestions ?
     
  17. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Some sort of LVDS using a (porbably) custom connector. It's basically the same quality as DVI.
     
  18. Evanedstrom@ear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    #18
    It's not a mini vga, it's a mini dvi
     
  19. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #19
    That was in 2005, before iMacs had mini-DVI. It's also generally appreciated in these forums if you refrain from digging up amazingly old threads.
     

Share This Page